Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The addictive Regency listen from the New York Times best-selling author that’s perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer!  

The accidental governess...After her livelihood slips through her fingers, Alexandra Mountbatten takes on an impossible post: transforming a pair of wild orphans into proper young ladies. However, the girls don’t need discipline. They need a loving home. Try telling that to their guardian, Chase Reynaud. The ladies of London have tried - and failed - to make him settle down. Somehow, Alexandra must reach his heart...without risking her own.

The infamous rake...Like any self-respecting libertine, Chase lives by one rule: no attachments. When a stubborn little governess tries to reform him, he decides to prove he can’t be tamed. But Alexandra is more than he bargained for: clever, perceptive, passionate. She refuses to see him as a lost cause. Soon the walls around Chase’s heart are crumbling...and he’s in danger of falling, hard.    

©2018 Tessa Dare (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"I absolutely loved it; her style is so warm and funny." (Nicola Cornick on The Duchess Deal)

"The irresistibly provocative, classy love scenes set the bar high for other historical romance novels." (Publishers Weekly on The Duchess Deal)

"I absolutely adored it. I laughed out loud numerous times...Love her writing." (Jodi Picoult)

What listeners say about The Governess Game

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

An excuse for Sex.

Sadly the author has proved she has more to offer, but decided to settle for the easy and standard.
There is a good story with humour, drowned under obvious sex set pieces.
A totally disappointment, not worth the credit.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely all round treat...

I didn’t know I was about to laugh out loud so many times or find myself smiling at the repartee between the characters. There was no obvious pages full of “ he said or she said” ending every sentence -
my personal dislike as it takes away the enjoyment. Mary Jane Wells is to be congratulated on her narrative skills , so much so I will look out specifically for her name. All together it was a treat to be savoured and I will no doubt play again..
Terry Mac

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant narrator to fun book.

Could not stop listening to this book. Good story, strong characters and fabulous narration makes it very entertaining and most enjoyable. Many thanks for not overwriting it, as often some books go for the length rather than content.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Laugh out load moments

Really good book with strong characters and yes far fetched but good fun and very enjoyable

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful!

I adore Tessa Dare's writing style and can't wait for the next book in this series. Beautiful, funny and never bawdy. I loved it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this series

Tessa Dare never fails to put a smile on my face. Her humour is incredible, and any author that can make you chuckle is worth their weight in gold. Her stories are wholesome HEA's with great character development, roguish heroes and strong heroines and a few giggles along the way. I also adore the quirks she gives her characters. A bunch of misfits who find love - what more can you ask for?

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Minus stars if were possible

Misrepresented Historic Novel
Mostly a lurid cheap 'harlequin' 'steamy' novel...irritating and quit, waste of money...😡

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A fun story

A fun story though a little too modern in the language at times. The banter was engaging and I loved the characters of Daisy and Rosamund.
The narration by Mary Jane Wells was in the main excellent and kept you interested and listening. A pity some of the pronunciations of the places/names were not English and grated a little.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Vi
  • 17-09-21

Loved it

Brilliant performance by the narrator and great light story. I thoroughly enjoyed it and looking forward to more

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Happy camper

I can’t say enough good things about the narrator. I’ve been impressed with her work before, but this is another level good! Working with Tessa’s work must make it easier, but I’m so genuinely impressed with the narrators skill too!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kerry
  • Kerry
  • 10-11-18

Loved this book!

This book was so funny and romantic. The narrator was awesome. I couldn’t stop laughing out loud at times. I highly recommended

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judy
  • Judy
  • 01-09-18

Excellent narration enhances wonderful story.

The Governess Game is the second book in the Girl Meets Duke series, and we see quite a bit of the original cast from Book 1. This is Alexandra's story. She sets the time on the clocks of the wealthy, and stargazes in her spare time, hoping to find a new comet. Chase is her mysterious Book Store Rake and a potential client for her time-keeping business. He is also the reluctant guardian of a couple of little girls who would have been comfortable in the Addams Family.
The cast of characters have the enchanting quirks that I've grown to depend on in a Tessa Dare novel. From the doll with an unfortunate tendency to die from horrendous diseases,( and hilarious eulogies to match), to inventive sandwich recipes, there is a lot of background entertainment in this story that makes it a memorable experience. The love story is satisfying and hits no jarring notes, such as drawn out confessions or misunderstandings. Both Alexandra and Chase have their own charm and are thoroughly likeable. They just fit.
The narration is sublime. Mary Jane Wells just makes everything better, when it was already really, really good.
I hate having to wait for the 3rd book.

1 person found this helpful