Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Basket

New to Audible?

Your first audiobook is free
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The addictive new Regency listen from the New York Times best-selling author that’s perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer!

The accidental governess...

After her livelihood slips through her fingers, Alexandra Mountbatten takes on an impossible post: transforming a pair of wild orphans into proper young ladies. However, the girls don’t need discipline. They need a loving home. Try telling that to their guardian, Chase Reynaud. The ladies of London have tried - and failed - to make him settle down. Somehow, Alexandra must reach his heart...without risking her own.

The infamous rake...

Like any self-respecting libertine, Chase lives by one rule: no attachments. When a stubborn little governess tries to reform him, he decides to prove he can’t be tamed. But Alexandra is more than he bargained for: clever, perceptive, passionate. She refuses to see him as a lost cause. Soon the walls around Chase’s heart are crumbling...and he’s in danger of falling, hard.

©2018 Tessa Dare (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"I absolutely loved it; her style is so warm and funny." (Nicola Cornick on The Duchess Deal)

"The irresistibly provocative, classy love scenes set the bar high for other historical romance novels." (Publishers Weekly on The Duchess Deal)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful!

I adore Tessa Carr's writing style and can't wait for the next book in this series. Beautiful, funny and never bawdy. I loved it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • F
  • 05-10-18

Outstanding female narration

The book is a good yarn, with many chuckles along the way, but for me the narrator, Mary Jane Wells turned a good book into an excellent audiobook. She was superb, so well read and I felt she really 'got' the nuance of each character. The way she read the children's voices was genius. I'm not a great lover of child voice narration, but everything about MJW's performance was spot on.
Good story, excellent H&H, very funny, quirky and heartfelt. Would recommend as an example of voice properly matching novel. Well done to Tessa Dare and to MJW, thank you for an very enjoyable 7 hours or so.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

This book is brilliant especially with Marry Jane Wells as narrator. She's one of my favourite . I'm Tessa Dare's big fallower. Since spindle cove her books never dissapoint . Although some of the narrators are not suited for her books. That I have to give up and buy a kindle book instead.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kerry
  • 10-11-18

Loved this book!

This book was so funny and romantic. The narrator was awesome. I couldn’t stop laughing out loud at times. I highly recommended

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Judy
  • 01-09-18

Excellent narration enhances wonderful story.

The Governess Game is the second book in the Girl Meets Duke series, and we see quite a bit of the original cast from Book 1. This is Alexandra's story. She sets the time on the clocks of the wealthy, and stargazes in her spare time, hoping to find a new comet. Chase is her mysterious Book Store Rake and a potential client for her time-keeping business. He is also the reluctant guardian of a couple of little girls who would have been comfortable in the Addams Family.
The cast of characters have the enchanting quirks that I've grown to depend on in a Tessa Dare novel. From the doll with an unfortunate tendency to die from horrendous diseases,( and hilarious eulogies to match), to inventive sandwich recipes, there is a lot of background entertainment in this story that makes it a memorable experience. The love story is satisfying and hits no jarring notes, such as drawn out confessions or misunderstandings. Both Alexandra and Chase have their own charm and are thoroughly likeable. They just fit.
The narration is sublime. Mary Jane Wells just makes everything better, when it was already really, really good.
I hate having to wait for the 3rd book.