Listen free for 30 days

The Good Son

Length: 9 hrs and 18 mins
4.3 out of 5 stars (24 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

You wake up covered in blood.

There's a body downstairs.

Your mother's body.

You didn't do it. Did you? 

How could you, you've always been the good son. 

The international sensation from Korea's million-copy best selling author You-Jeong Jeong.

When Yu-jin wakes up covered in blood, and finds the body of his mother downstairs, he decides to hide the evidence and pursue the killer himself. 

Then young women start disappearing in his South Korean town. Who is he hunting? And why does the answer take him back to his brother and father who lost their lives many years ago.

The Good Son is inspired by a true story.  

©2018 You-jeong Jeong (P)2018 Little, Brown Book Group

Critic reviews

"For fans of Jo Nesbo and Patricia Highsmith." (A. J. Finn, Sunday Times, best-selling author of The Woman in the Window)

"The queen of crime...You-jeong Jeong is shaking up the world of suspense." (Glamour

More from the same

What listeners say about The Good Son

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth the wait

It took me a while to get into the book but when I did I enjoyed it. The sad reality of mental health.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jo
  • 24-07-18

Interesting thriller told by an unusual narrator

It's a great story with unexpected twists and well written narrative and pacing that keeps you interested all the way to the end. Fans of Scandi noir will definitely enjoy this book. Wasn't so sold in the performance but the story was gripping enough to forgive the flat monotonous reader. Also was quite distracting because he had atrocious pronunciation of Korean words and names including the author's name.