Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

He isn’t who you think he is....

When Leah Talbot crashes her car one night, she spots a light on in a nearby house and approaches, hoping that someone is home.

He is. 

Charming, handsome, Martin Tate answers the door to the bedraggled and traumatised Leah, inviting her in. Though she’s not there for long, Leah feels an indescribable pull to the man who has helped in her hour of need.

But when she returns the next morning to say thank you, it isn’t Martin who answers the door this time. It’s the police.

There’s been a brutal murder, and the female homeowner is lying dead in a pool of blood upstairs in bed.

There’s no sign of Martin....

Until he comes looking for Leah.

The Good Neighbour is a nerve-shredding domestic suspense thriller of secrets and serial killers perfect for fans of Sharon Bolton and S. E. Lynes. 

©2021 R. J. Parker (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Extremely fast paced and completely page-turning. The Good Neighbour is like a nerve-shredding fusion of James Patterson and Thomas Harris, with a terrifying final act that will stay in my mind for a long time." (B. P. Walter, Sunday Times best-selling author of The Dinner Guest)

What listeners say about The Good Neighbour

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Promising start but became far fetched

I really enjoyed this book at the beginning. The narrator is excellent and the story showed a lot of promise, however, as the book went on, it just became more and more far fetched and unbelievable.
I did listen right to the end and there were parts of the book that were genuinely creepy but for me, it just became a bit too ridiculous. I bought this book in the Audible half price sale so for the money, it was an ok listen but I think I'd have been disappointed if I'd paid full price or used a credit.