Try an audiobook on us

The Glass Woman

Narrated by: Heiða Reed, Smari Gunn
Length: 11 hrs and 18 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)
Regular price: £21.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of The Glass Woman by Caroline Lea, read by Heiða Reed (Poldark, BBC) and Smari Gunn. 

Iceland, 1686. The brutal, lava-scarred landscape can swallow a man without so much as a volcanic gasp. 

Jón Eiríksson has just married his second wife in a year. But Rósa's new home in the windswept village of Stykkishólmur is terrifyingly isolated - the villagers are suspicious of strangers and fearful of something which they will not name. 

What is Rósa's new husband's secret, and why does the spectre of his first wife, Anna, haunt them so? 

Set against the backdrop of the 17th-century Icelandic witch trials, in a land governed by religion and fear, The Glass Woman is addictive, breathtaking and perfect for fans of Burial Rites and The Silent Companions.

©2019 Caroline Lea (P)2019 Penguin Books Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Atmospheric, vivid, skillfully narrated!

The Glass Woman is an imaginatively plotted, immersive and well-researched novel. Caroline Lea conjures the harsh yet starkly beautiful landscape of 17th century Iceland so that it not only permeates the actions and emotions of her characters, it emerges as equally strong and unforgettable in its own right.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A bleak and beautiful book

Can’t really describe what it’s like listening to this book, but it is a bitter adventure. Its excellent written. Heida & Smari narrate beautifully.