Listen free for 30 days

The Glass Woman

Narrated by: Heiða Reed, Smari Gunn
Length: 11 hrs and 18 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (118 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of The Glass Woman, by Caroline Lea, read by Heiða Reed (Poldark, BBC) and Smari Gunn. 

Iceland, 1686. The brutal, lava-scarred landscape can swallow a man without so much as a volcanic gasp. 

Jón Eiríksson has just married his second wife in a year. But Rósa's new home in the windswept village of Stykkishólmur is terrifyingly isolated - the villagers are suspicious of strangers and fearful of something which they will not name. 

What is Rósa's new husband's secret, and why does the spectre of his first wife, Anna, haunt them so? 

Set against the backdrop of the 17th-century Icelandic witch trials, in a land governed by religion and fear, The Glass Woman is addictive, breathtaking and perfect for fans of Burial Rites and The Silent Companions.

©2019 Caroline Lea (P)2019 Penguin Books Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

The Glass Woman

This book was certainly different to any that I have previously "read". The narration was superb and a pleasure to listen to. I love historical books, and the setting in Iceland was an enjoyable surprise. The description of the harsh landscape, barren and icy, was so good I had no difficulty imagining myself trying to eke out an existence in the unforgiving terrain. In this icy world the story of Rosa and Jon and and the rest of characters was very well told. I do not heshitate in recommending this book for an interesting read.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Atmospheric, vivid, skillfully narrated!

The Glass Woman is an imaginatively plotted, immersive and well-researched novel. Caroline Lea conjures the harsh yet starkly beautiful landscape of 17th century Iceland so that it not only permeates the actions and emotions of her characters, it emerges as equally strong and unforgettable in its own right.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Emersive

Wonderfully story, beautifully read. This was an addictive listen. A real treat that helped my commute fly by.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

More misery than joy

Excellent performances but the story is more misery than joy and the people strangely savage, humourless and inhumane.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

I loved this book, great story, depth of characterisation, I really cared for the characters. I like getting a glimpse into other lives, from other centuries, from very different places to England. This ticked so many boxes for me. My only, very small rant, is, at the end, which was very emotional, a second after it finished up comes the 'if you enjoyed this book'...totally inappropriate and ruined the poignancy of the ending - not good, all he had to do was leave it another 5 or so seconds.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well worth a listen/read

Excellently performed - it was good to hear the names pronounced by a native speaker. Others have criticised the book as being a predictable read - i disagree. I can see where some may say its a variation on Rebecca which it may well be but is none the worse for it if thats the case - i always thought Rebecca was a variation on a theme of Jane Eyre. I enjoyed it for what it was, a well written story and, had I've been reading the book, i would also take issue with those who say that its not a page turner. It kept my attention and thats not an easy task where fiction is concerned.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Haunting

The narration was excellent. I would have struggled with the Icelandic names and places if I had been reading the book. The story captured the bleakness of the landscape and claustrophobia of living in a small community where every action is judged.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A bleak and beautiful book

Can’t really describe what it’s like listening to this book, but it is a bitter adventure. Its excellent written. Heida & Smari narrate beautifully.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

There is no joy here

This is not an uplifting story, if you want feel good then look elsewhere. It’s well written but just lacks any type of redemption

0 of 4 people found this review helpful