Listen free for 30 days

  • The Girls on Chalk Hill

  • Detective Lexi Bennett, Book 1
  • By: Alison Belsham
  • Narrated by: Sofia Zervudachi
  • Length: 11 hrs and 33 mins
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Girls on Chalk Hill cover art

The Girls on Chalk Hill

By: Alison Belsham
Narrated by: Sofia Zervudachi
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £19.00

Buy Now for £19.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Embalmer cover art
First Blood cover art
One Left Alive: A Heart-Stopping and Gripping Crime Thriller cover art
Devil's Chimney cover art
The Dead of Midwinter cover art
A Long Time Dead cover art
The Flood cover art
The Lost Girls of Penzance cover art
He Is Watching You cover art
The Missing Ones cover art
The Next Girl: Detective Gina Harte, Book 1 cover art
The Fallen cover art
The Devil Stone cover art
Silent Tide cover art
The Corfe Castle Murders cover art
Secrets in Blood cover art

Summary

They lie on the hillside, wearing matching white dresses, tiaras in their blonde hair. Each of them clutches a red rose. They could be sleeping, but frost shines on the lashes of their wide blue eyes, frozen open forever....

Detective Lexi Bennett is devastated when she finds the two teenagers lying side by side on the quiet green hillside, their throats cut. Convinced this is no ordinary killer, she vows to draw on all her profiling experience to find justice for these beautiful girls who will never have the chance to grow up.

But when the victims are identified as Lucy and Eden Carter, Lexi’s blood turns cold. The sisters were triplets–and the third girl, Paige, is missing. The case suddenly feels frighteningly personal. Lexi was a triplet too, and she and her sisters were abducted as teens. Two of them escaped, but Lexi’s dreams are still haunted by memories of the faceless man who took them, and her sister Rose, who she never saw again.

Her boss thinks she’s too close to the case, but Lexi is sure the monster who took her is back with a message. She throws herself into the investigation, hunting down every clue, certain that time is running out to save Paige.

Then, she returns home to find the back door open and Rose’s diary on the kitchen table. As she traces her beloved sister’s handwriting, her heart breaking, Lexi swears she will not rest until this brutal monster is caught. Will the diary help her find him before Paige is killed? Or is she walking into a trap designed just for her?

A completely compelling serial killer thriller that will make your pulse race. Fans of Karin Slaughter, Angela Marsons, and J M Dalgliesh will love The Girls on Chalk Hill.

©2023 Alison Belsham (P)2023 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Girls on Chalk Hill

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Irritating and repetitive

I did make it through the book. The writing was amateurish & repetitive. Irritating & not quite believable protagonist/antagonist. No emotional depth or psychological insight whatsoever.
The narration was breathy, pouty & overly dramatic. Very little range & made me want to throw my phone against the wall!
Overall a completely forgettable book with not enough to make me curious about what happens next to the main character - won’t be buying the next one in the series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Glad I didn’t believe some reviews. Book is BRILLIANT

Ok so a new author for me to listen to and the narrator didn’t put too much feeling into what she was reading , BUT saying that , I kept going and the storyline grabs you and you forget the same sort of tonal voice from the narrator and you are hooked on the storyline .. It’s got to be good as I have one credit available at the moment and that’s going onto the next book in the series .
If the narrator could put more expression into it , this series will be phenomenal

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Too boring….

A horrible idea and horribly realised. Better not bother with such an unlikely and unpleasant tale. Some things ought not to be imagined even for money. Horrid altogether. Detestable. False. Avoid at all cost. Remember you can always return….

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Brilliant story, rattled along at a good pace, very well read. Preordered the next in the series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

A great start to a new series

The Girls on Chalk Hill is the debut novel in Alison Belsham's new series featuring Detective Lexi Bennett.

Its so good to get in on the ground level of a new series where characters and their back stories are being introduced for the first time. Add this to fact that this is my first Alison Belsham novel and it's win, win for me!

I loved Lexi's tenacity and her ability in 'reading' her team and I'm sure there's many more times in the future where this will feature heavily.

I thought the connection that Lexi had with this, her first case as the boss, was equal parts inspired and creepy. I certainly shivered on more than one occasion.

All in all, Alison Belsham has introduced me to a new Detective, team and hopefully, many more cases that will be subject to Lexi's scrutiny and I can't wait to get my teeth into her next case!

In this, the audio version, the narrator brought the story to life and helped me become captivated by the story from the very first chapter.



Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!