Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Girls of Mersey Square

  • Mersey Square, Book 1
  • By: Pam Howes
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 10 hrs
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
The Girls of Mersey Square cover art

The Girls of Mersey Square

By: Pam Howes
Narrated by: Imogen Church
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £19.00

Buy Now for £19.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

A Child for Sale cover art
The Factory Girls of Lark Lane cover art
The Liverpool Girls cover art
A Thimble for Christmas cover art
The Midwives of Lark Lane cover art
The Girls of Victory Street: An Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Family Saga cover art
Christmas with the Engine Girls cover art
The War Girls of Goodwill House cover art
The Railway Girls cover art
The Wartime Bookshop cover art
The Girls of Bomber Command cover art
War Clouds Over Blackberry Farm cover art
Third Time Lucky cover art
New Neighbours for Coronation Close cover art
Winter's Orphan cover art
A Wife's Courage cover art

Summary

An utterly heartbreaking and uplifting historical saga novel

A totally heart-wrenching but ultimately uplifting historical novel from best-selling author Pam Howes about young women facing dark times together, with friendship and courage. Fans of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costeloe, and Nancy Revell will be captivated.

Mersey Square, Stockport, 1959. Jane Wilson’s parents met during the war in the North of England, but Jane is more interested in listening to the new rock music than hearing stories about the Blitz. When she meets handsome drummer Eddie Mellor, with his sparkling blue eyes and cool black leather jacket, she knows her life is about to start.

But Jane’s parents think Eddie’s rebellious ways will lead their beloved daughter into trouble. They forbid her from seeing Eddie, telling Jane to get a proper job as a nurse. But Jane cannot stand the idea of life without the boy she loves and secretly continues to see Eddie. The day she finds out that Eddie has betrayed her, she is utterly distraught. Were her parents right all along?

Jane is desperate to rebuild her life. Her friends rally round to support her, and she gets a job at the local music shop she loves, when to her shock, Eddie invites her to his family home and begs her to reconsider. Just as Jane is feeling tempted, someone pounds on the door of the house bringing shocking news that will change both of their lives forever....

Can Jane find happiness with Eddie? And if she does, will her family ever forgive her? 

This book was previously published as That’ll Be the Day.

©2023 Pam Howes (P)2023 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Girls of Mersey Square

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.