Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Peering over the side of the boat, the glare of early morning sun catches on something pale in the inky water. The boy’s curious fingertips break the surface, pulling up a tangle of long blonde hair from the reeds below....

The discovery of a young student floating face down in Lake Windermere, her naked skin almost translucent in the freezing water, looks like yet another tragic teen suicide. But the victim’s lack of clothes make forensic pathologist Beth Adams want to investigate further. Anything to distract her from the arrival of her abusive ex-boyfriend’s body on the mortuary table that morning. 

With witnesses keeping tight-lipped and any clues washed away by the tides, it’s up to Beth to find the evidence her team needs. But then another girl is found in the lake, this time still clinging to life. She tells them she was at a party on a boat, and that she was pushed....

As more bodies surface, Beth finds tiny traces of boat paint present on each victim. It’s a critical lead that links these attacks back to a tragic accident involving a group of school children years ago. 

Faced with a killer hungry for revenge, and with her own life spiralling out of control, it’s going to take every ounce of skill and determination for Beth to catch this monster before he takes another innocent life. But will Beth realise he’s been right beside her all along? 

A serial killer thriller that will have you sleeping with the lights on. Fans of Patricia Gibney, LJ Ross, and Angela Marsons will have to hold on tight for this nail-biting rollercoaster ride!

©2019 Helen Phifer (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Girls in the Lake

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great thriller

This is a great follow up to book one, The Girl in the Grave, which I very much enjoyed after a rough start.

This story starts with the non couple Josh and Beth having become an actual couple, which surprised me, so early in a series, but it plays a part in the story (not an edifying part).

Beth is still prone to annoying self doubts and mind wandering but overall she's rather a likeable character despite these flaws, so she's rather more human and believeable than some super hero cops/pathologists/psychologists.

I admit to having been totally thrown by the big reveal at the end, I had my suspicions, but I really was surprised when it all came to light, well done Ms Phifer.

I love Beth, I love this series, I will certainly get the next book.

Alison Campbell is not the best narrator for any thriller but she portrays Beth quite well, since Beth is lacking in confidence and generally seems pretty young and Alison is always pleasant to listen to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I do hope we don’t have to wait too long for the next instalment of pathologist Beth Adams. I have enjoyed books1 & 2. Will definitely recommend these to my family & friends.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story

Thoroughly enjoyable with a surprise at the end. Look forward to her next book.No more than I can say

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 03-01-22

3

If a book cover shows lake or ocean
water, I pass on it. But the blurb lured me into
trying it. The evolution of the mystery is
good and this is fairly good.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ajax
  • Ajax
  • 18-07-21

did you even read it

I love the mystery of her stories, but the explanation of what happened to Beth in the first book compared to the explanation in the second book were completely different. and why did her ex off himself when he was literally about to die? and why was she shocked by his appearance when she had just seen him 6 weeks before when she dropped off his letters and told him to f off? why are we blaming the ex for the second attempt on her life and calling the man responsible her ex's accomplice? why, at the end of the first book does she feel so proud of herself for fighting off her would be killer, then in the second book she credits Josh with saving her. why is an insecure alcoholic in the second book? in the first book Beth and Josh took turns choosing Netflix titles to watch, but im the second book it says she never watches TV. why in the f would Josh ignore her for 2 days and treat her like shit because he was doing something nice for someone? why did Josh's ex and Beth's ex both have cancer? wtf? dumb.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tiff S
  • Tiff S
  • 02-08-21

Disappointed

The story is not consistent with the first book. The storyline is forced. The relationship is more interesting part of the book. Which is not the genre I wanted to hear. I'm just disappointed.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JF
  • JF
  • 26-06-21

Tell, tell, never show.

The plot is interesting, but the writing is incredibly annoying. It constantly violates the show don’t tell rule and it just gets so tedious.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marydior
  • Marydior
  • 05-07-20

Fantastic

A great British Procedural and the second in the series. This book has it all: fast paced action, a mystery that will keep you guessing and a touch of romance. Excellent narration.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K. Hawes
  • K. Hawes
  • 23-04-20

Surprising to the end!

The story was very good, led in many different directions, with a great twist at the end.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kara
  • Kara
  • 20-03-20

Terrible, poor mystery, ridiculous motives.

This is the second in the series and it’s just as absurd as the first. The first one never gives a motive for either attacker and it’s completely absurd. Main characters behavior like fools. I won’t read another one.