Listen free for 30 days

The Girls in the Lake

Beth Adams, Book 2
Narrated by: Alison Campbell
Series: Beth Adams, Book 2
Length: 7 hrs and 53 mins
5 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Peering over the side of the boat, the glare of early morning sun catches on something pale in the inky water. The boy’s curious fingertips break the surface, pulling up a tangle of long blonde hair from the reeds below....

The discovery of a young student floating face down in Lake Windermere, her naked skin almost translucent in the freezing water, looks like yet another tragic teen suicide. But the victim’s lack of clothes make forensic pathologist Beth Adams want to investigate further. Anything to distract her from the arrival of her abusive ex-boyfriend’s body on the mortuary table that morning. 

With witnesses keeping tight-lipped and any clues washed away by the tides, it’s up to Beth to find the evidence her team needs. But then another girl is found in the lake, this time still clinging to life. She tells them she was at a party on a boat, and that she was pushed....

As more bodies surface, Beth finds tiny traces of boat paint present on each victim. It’s a critical lead that links these attacks back to a tragic accident involving a group of school children years ago. 

Faced with a killer hungry for revenge, and with her own life spiralling out of control, it’s going to take every ounce of skill and determination for Beth to catch this monster before he takes another innocent life. But will Beth realise he’s been right beside her all along? 

A serial killer thriller that will have you sleeping with the lights on. Fans of Patricia Gibney, LJ Ross, and Angela Marsons will have to hold on tight for this nail-biting rollercoaster ride!

©2019 Helen Phifer (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great thriller

This is a great follow up to book one, The Girl in the Grave, which I very much enjoyed after a rough start.

This story starts with the non couple Josh and Beth having become an actual couple, which surprised me, so early in a series, but it plays a part in the story (not an edifying part).

Beth is still prone to annoying self doubts and mind wandering but overall she's rather a likeable character despite these flaws, so she's rather more human and believeable than some super hero cops/pathologists/psychologists.

I admit to having been totally thrown by the big reveal at the end, I had my suspicions, but I really was surprised when it all came to light, well done Ms Phifer.

I love Beth, I love this series, I will certainly get the next book.

Alison Campbell is not the best narrator for any thriller but she portrays Beth quite well, since Beth is lacking in confidence and generally seems pretty young and Alison is always pleasant to listen to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I do hope we don’t have to wait too long for the next instalment of pathologist Beth Adams. I have enjoyed books1 & 2. Will definitely recommend these to my family & friends.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story

Thoroughly enjoyable with a surprise at the end. Look forward to her next book.No more than I can say

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kara
  • Kara
  • 20-03-20

Terrible, poor mystery, ridiculous motives.

This is the second in the series and it’s just as absurd as the first. The first one never gives a motive for either attacker and it’s completely absurd. Main characters behavior like fools. I won’t read another one.