Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A missing child. A single witness. 

I am the girl on the platform.
When new mother Bridget catches her train home from London, she witnesses something terrible: a young girl is taken from the platform, right before her eyes. 

No one knows where I am.
But no one is reported missing, and with Bridget the only witness, she is written off as an attention seeker. Nobody believes her - not even her own husband.

Can you find me? 
But Bridget knows what she saw, and becomes consumed with finding the little girl. Only she can save the child’s life...but could delving into the mystery cost Bridget her own?

A dark and absorbing thriller with the impact of memorable series like Broadchurch or The Missing, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Erin Kinsley’s Found. 

Readers love The Girl on the Platform: 

"Such an accomplished thriller debut; I felt I was living Bridget’s nightmare alongside her. Twisty, emotionally charged and with an ending I didn’t see coming!" (Jackie Kabler, best-selling author of The Perfect Couple)

"Bryony Pearce's compelling narrative pulls the reader through to the final heart pounding and haunting conclusion. A magnificent debut!" (Samantha Lee Howe, USA Today best-selling author of The Stranger in Our Bed)

"Dark, twisty and highly entertaining." (Cass Green, best-selling author of In a Cottage in a Wood)

"The Girl on the Platform carries a creeping dark narrative that leaves you feeling unsettled yet desperate to know more." (Caroline Mitchell, best-selling author of The Perfect Mother)

©2021 Bryony Pearce (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Bryony Pearce's compelling narrative pulls the reader through to the final heart pounding and haunting conclusion. A magnificent debut!" (Samantha Lee Howe, USA TODAY best-selling author of The Stranger in Our Bed)

"Dark, twisty and highly entertaining." (Cass Green, best-selling author of In a Cottage in a Wood)

"Such an accomplished thriller debut; I felt I was living Bridget’s nightmare alongside her. Twisty, emotionally charged and with an ending I didn’t see coming!" (Jackie Kabler, best-selling author of The Perfect Couple)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Girl on the Platform

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

BYRONY PEARCE - YOUR DEBUT BOOK?

My goodness I found this book so jaw droppingly real, I couldn’t stop listening. I needed Bridg to be right and (no spoilers) I was about 3/4 of the way through before I figured out what was happening. Byrony you talking to the reader afterwards was so honest and inspirational I could have cried. I’m not on social media or it would have been a privilege to follow you. Good luck with everything you talked about. The best book I’ve read this year!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW

I dont usually leave a review but this book deserved 5* gripping brilliant fantastic amazing

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark D
  • Mark D
  • 27-04-21

So much math

I started to doze during the chapter that's all about math, statics and probability. This should be a skip. Its predictable and anybody can figure out the gist of the ending. Unfortunately, when that happened there was still almost half the book to go. That meant a few hours to endure.

Its honestly like this this the whole way. Listening to her body issues and stretch marks. Follow her through the odd mental health issues and learn about the antidepressant drug class. I'm a pharmacy tech so really didn't need to hear all that. And the last third is incessant guilt trips and what my mom calls pity parties.

Title might be similar to"Girl on a Train" but most definitely is not.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer
  • Jennifer
  • 22-04-21

Less Mystery, More Thriller/Horror

I had no idea what to expect when listening to this novel. I went in completely blind. I thought I was very clever when I solved the mystery in about the first 20 to 25% of the book but in retrospect, I think that’s what the author intended. With that being said, be prepared. If you solve the mystery early on as I did, this novel becomes a horror story. I had to take breaks as I was becoming too emotionally involved and frustrated. Generally speaking, I’m glad I hung in there and I look forward to more novels by this author. I just wish I had known what I was getting into so I could prepare myself emotionally.