Listen free for 30 days

The Girl He Used to Know

Length: 8 hrs and 5 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

An unusual love. Two broken hearts. What difference does 10 years make? 

Annika Rose has always been different. Sensory overload is a constant problem for her. She has a hard time reading people and feels lost in social situations. She's a brilliant chess player but can't pull an outfit together to save her life. In her last year of college, she's the weird girl whose only real friend is her roommate, Janice.    

Then, one day, Jonathan joins the chess club and is immediately captivated by the mysterious girl whose attention is completely fixed on her game. Despite challenges, the two fall in love. Jonathan is patient and understanding of Annika's quirks and seems to like her just the way she is. Annika, in turn, finds the world less confusing and ominous when she's with Jonathan. As graduation looms, they begin making plans for the future. But a traumatic event will force them apart, shattering their connection and leaving them to navigate their lives alone. 

A decade later, a highly functioning Annika and a jaded Jonathan meet by accident and feel the tug of old feelings and the passionate attraction they once shared. Will they be able to pick up where they left off, or will time and old betrayals keep them from each other?  

The Girl He Used to Know is an uplifting novel about taking second chances, celebrating our differences and facing our fears. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Gail Honeyman, Jill Santopolo and Sliding Doors.

©2019 Tracey Garvis Graves (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group
What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely story.

Another gem from Tracey Garvis Graves. It’s cute, a love story, and the autism aspect is written with intelligence, sensitivity and humour. The narrator is great too. I’ve already lined up another of Tracey’s books in my Audible library! Can’t wait!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a moving story

I listened to the audiobook of this. I cannot believe how moving I found this book. It was fantastic. The book starts off alright, and I had my reservations as aside from the well written autistic voice, it didn't seem particularly deep. However, I did become really attached to the characters, and the second half of this book impressed me. It almost made me cry twice, and I didn't see the final scenes coming until they happened. It's a really sweet book. I would recommend for sure.

Probably a bit similar to Elinor Oliphant is completely fine, and at least caters to a similar audience, and while dramatic events do happen, the tone throughout the book is more upbeat than that of Elinor Oliphant.