Listen free for 30 days

The Forgotten Sister

Narrated by: Kristin Atherton
Length: 11 hrs and 23 mins
4 out of 5 stars (17 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

One woman’s secret will shape another’s destiny....

1560: Amy Robsart is trapped in a loveless marriage to Robert Dudley, a member of the court of Queen Elizabeth I. Surrounded by enemies and with nowhere left to turn, Amy hatches a desperate scheme to escape - one with devastating consequences that will echo through the centuries....

Present day: When Lizzie Kingdom is forced to withdraw from the public eye in a blaze of scandal, it seems her life is over. But she’s about to encounter a young man, Johnny Robsart, whose fate will interlace with hers in the most unexpected of ways. For Johnny is certain that Lizzie is linked to a terrible secret dating back to Tudor times. If Lizzie is brave enough to go in search of the truth, then what she discovers will change the course of their lives forever.

 Moving between the Tudor era and the present day, The Forgotten Sister is a stunning historical novel that draws on one of history’s most compelling and enduring mysteries. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Barbara Erskine, Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton.  

©2020 Nicola Cornick (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"A fascinating tale with intriguing twists." (Barbara Erskine)

"Her books are fabulous." (New York Times best-selling author Julia Quinn) 

"There is much to enjoy in a sumptuous novel that slips between present day and 1557." (Sunday Mirror)

What listeners say about The Forgotten Sister

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

It’s nice to read something different
Really enjoyed the story and for once I couldn’t predict the end

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This story will stay with me forever!

Wow... what a journey! If only history books had been this compelling when I was at school. I'd not read (listened to) anything by Nicola Cornick before but this certainly won't be the last occasion I enjoy her novels. The writing is so compelling and intelligent that I totally believed in the story from the very first words. I couldn't work out how things were going to come together and I had no idea where the author would take the reader next. The narrator was excellent, having a voice perfect for not only the 21st century but also the Tudor period. I suspect she enjoyed narrating the tale, as her emotional rendition and 'take' on the writing was spot on. Well done! Finally, I love the way the author has cleverly woven the Tudor story into the present day, with parallel/mirrored events. A very satisfying audible book, which deserves more than 5 stars!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A cleverly woven tale

For anyone interested in Tudor times, this is an entertaining listen which weaves the story of Amy Robsart into a modern setting. While this construct can be a little heavy handed at time, it is nevertheless an engaging story & definitely the best of Nicola Cornick’s books which I’ve listened to.