Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Elaine was typing out letters from POWs and reminding herself that she would not cry. Poor Sam in Burma doubted whether he would ever see his children again. "Tell them they mean the world to me." Come on, Sam. Elaine wanted to reach out into the letter, hold his hand. Hang in there. If only he knew that she was half a world away, reading, listening.... 

London, 1943. German bombs rain down on London, but Elaine Parker knows her job transcribing letters from far-away prisoners of war is more important than her own safety. As she pores over each tearful letter from a soldier to his family far away, she's not only making sure the notes reach their destinations, but also looking for secret messages hidden between the lines to help the allies win the war. 

At home, Elaine's life isn't so simple. What the other clerical girls don't know is that Elaine's family isn't respectable, and with her parents long dead, it's up to Elaine to make ends meet. But with one brother increasingly in trouble with the law, and the other suffering a violent breakdown, it doesn't leave Elaine much time to consider her own future hopes and dreams. 

And then Elaine meets dark-haired and passionate Bobby - a wartime photographer on the dangerous front line - and her world shifts. The uncertainties of war feel more personal than ever. Will Elaine be forced to choose between her difficult family and her growing passion for Bobby? And how do you let yourself love someone with your whole heart when each moment could be their last? 

A heartbreaking World War Two novel - emotional and unforgettable. Perfect for fans of Orphan Train, Sold on a Monday, and Before We Were Yours

What readers are saying about Lizzie Page....

"Brought me to tears.... The story has plenty of twists and turns.... If you like romantic historical fiction, particularly which is set in wartime, then this is the book for you! This, at times, bought tears to my eyes and equally a warm glow to my heart." (Stardust Book Reviews)

"Lizzie Page has gone and done it again with this beautiful, poignant, and immensely emotional story.... She is by far one of my favourite authors.... I absolutely love how this is written. Lizzie, you have blown me away with your beautiful words, wonderful imagination, and emotional story.... It is a lovingly written story that has real heart, and one that I cannot recommend enough." (Chicks Rogues and Scandals, 5 stars)

"I loved it!... I adore Lizzie Page's writing and the way she so brilliantly blends fact and fiction." (Jill Mansell, Sunday Times best-selling author)

©2020 Lizzie Page (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Forgotten Girls

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fascinating Forgotten Girls

The double stories of Jen and her attractive Nana, Elaine, interweave the 1940's seamlessly with the modern day. This makes for a tantalising story line and being true, makes it even more so. Robert Capper was a glamorous, chivalrous lover who seemed touched with a charmed life despite, entering lethal war zones. The tension engendered by WW2 and the emotional situations makes this an unforgettable read