Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

No armies march. No generals marshal their troops on some distant battlefield. Yet the people of Entarna are at war.

And they are losing.

The nightwalkers have returned, creatures that roam the darkness searching for anyone foolish or unfortunate enough to find themselves without light to protect them. And the people of Entarna carry lanterns and torches, wielding them as shields against the night's creatures.

But sooner or later all lights fade. All flames go out.

Torrik and his wife were once soldiers in the war against the Dark. But when their son Alesh was born, they left that life behind them in the hopes of keeping him safe. But Alesh is no normal child, and Torrik will be forced to learn a hard truth.

Mortals plan. Mortals hope. And the gods laugh.

Finding themselves in the center of a conspiracy threatening the entire realm, Torrik and his wife must try to become the people they once were, people they'd thought they'd left behind long ago.

For when all lights go out...darkness reigns.

The Forging of Dawn is the prequel book to The Nightfall Wars, a new series by Jacob Peppers, the author of the best-selling epic fantasy series, The Seven Virtues. The Nightfall Wars is a dark fantasy series in the tradition of Joe Abercrombie, Brent Weeks, and David Gemmell.

©2019 Jacob Peppers (P)2020 Podium Publishing

What listeners say about The Forging of Dawn

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kyle humphreys
  • kyle humphreys
  • 28-02-20

DO NOT before you read book one.

If you read it before the first book, it ruins some of best parts of the book. Takes away the mystery. Prequels shouldn't include a major spoiler to your main character. That being said, it was well done.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for greg lorentz
  • greg lorentz
  • 02-04-20

pretty good

lots of potential and has a bit of terror in it. worth reading in the dark

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for eastwind
  • eastwind
  • 21-03-20

very dark

Anyone looking for a pleasant read this is definitely not the book for you. Very dark and somewhat depressing.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ricky Sneaks
  • Ricky Sneaks
  • 10-03-20

Excellent Beginning to Possibly an Epic Adventure

The story was predictable at points, but was still exciting to read. It was an obvious beginning to possibly greater things. Lots of room to grow.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joseph
  • Joseph
  • 09-02-20

Awesome Prequel

Love Jacob Peppers’ work and Derek Perkins does an awesome job narrating. This prequel nicely sets up the backstory for what comes in The Son of Morning. I’m off to listen book two in the series now! Keep up the great work Mr. Peppers!