Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £3.19

Buy Now for £3.19

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

No armies march. No generals marshal their troops on some distant battlefield. Yet the people of Entarna are at war.

And they are losing.

The nightwalkers have returned, creatures that roam the darkness searching for anyone foolish or unfortunate enough to find themselves without light to protect them. And the people of Entarna carry lanterns and torches, wielding them as shields against the night's creatures.

But sooner or later all lights fade. All flames go out.

Torrik and his wife were once soldiers in the war against the Dark. But when their son Alesh was born, they left that life behind them in the hopes of keeping him safe. But Alesh is no normal child, and Torrik will be forced to learn a hard truth.

Mortals plan. Mortals hope. And the gods laugh.

Finding themselves in the center of a conspiracy threatening the entire realm, Torrik and his wife must try to become the people they once were, people they'd thought they'd left behind long ago.

For when all lights go out...darkness reigns.

The Forging of Dawn is the prequel book to The Nightfall Wars, a new series by Jacob Peppers, the author of the best-selling epic fantasy series, The Seven Virtues. The Nightfall Wars is a dark fantasy series in the tradition of Joe Abercrombie, Brent Weeks, and David Gemmell.

©2019 Jacob Peppers (P)2020 Podium Publishing

What listeners say about The Forging of Dawn

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kyle humphreys
  • kyle humphreys
  • 28-02-20

DO NOT before you read book one.

If you read it before the first book, it ruins some of best parts of the book. Takes away the mystery. Prequels shouldn't include a major spoiler to your main character. That being said, it was well done.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for greg lorentz
  • greg lorentz
  • 02-04-20

pretty good

lots of potential and has a bit of terror in it. worth reading in the dark

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ricky Sneaks
  • Ricky Sneaks
  • 10-03-20

Excellent Beginning to Possibly an Epic Adventure

The story was predictable at points, but was still exciting to read. It was an obvious beginning to possibly greater things. Lots of room to grow.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brian Kottas
  • Brian Kottas
  • 26-05-21

Well Done!

The author uses a primal human fear to set the stage for what promises to be a compelling tale. The performance is excellent and adds to the overall experience.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 21-05-21

An enjoyable short story

I have not listened to the entire series this far, only the novella. I very much enjoyed it and hope to enjoy the series as much, should it be as well written. Being a light in the darkness is old symbolism, but I've never seen it taken this literally.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ephraim
  • Ephraim
  • 02-04-21

When I Made the Call

The narrating is excellent, the plot - that'll depend on you, but the moment I knew the writing was mediocre (good but not five-stars) was when the author had written "an explosion occurred and they were buffeted by an invisible wind." All wind is invisible, he and the editor didn't catch he meant ephemeral. He does that often - uses words where other descriptors would be better suited.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Glorianna
  • Glorianna
  • 12-03-21

Slow and plodding

Why say in a paragraph what can be painfully stretched into a chapter. Tough to finish.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joseph
  • Joseph
  • 09-02-20

Awesome Prequel

Love Jacob Peppers’ work and Derek Perkins does an awesome job narrating. This prequel nicely sets up the backstory for what comes in The Son of Morning. I’m off to listen book two in the series now!

Keep up the great work Mr. Peppers!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debby
  • Debby
  • 14-07-21

Great New Mythology

Perkins is great. Perfectly suited to read this type of story. It has all the makings of a great myth. Gods, great and small watching humankind traversing life shattering challenges. I wondered if the main character were voicing the authors thoughts and concerns for this world.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rictus
  • Rictus
  • 01-07-21

ok, not a repeat listen

reminds me somewhat of black sun rising. story is a bit slow until it isn't and then it is over. rising action is non existent. interesting story premise, good world building. slow story pacing. good prose, the descriptions good and can easily make you feel the emotion of the moment then the moment ends and it is a slog again. no character growth, I'm assuming that this 'prequel' is just set up information but still could have been better executed.
narrator had no vocal range or accent mimicry. pacing was slow. enunciation and dictation clear and concise so they are easily understood. good Audio quality.