Listen free for 30 days

The Forces' Sweethearts

The Bluebird Girls, Book 3
Narrated by: Ellie Heydon
Series: The Bluebird Girls, Book 3
Length: 6 hrs and 58 mins
Categories: Fiction, Sagas
5 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Gripping, emotional Second World War saga for fans of Annie Groves, Shirley Dickson and Soraya Lane.  

1943, and The Bluebird Girls are at the top of their game. They are touring with ENSA, visiting army bases across the world in order to boost the morale of the brave boys fighting in the desert and the jungle. The hours are long and the travelling uncomfortable, but Bea, Rainey and Ivy wouldn't be anywhere else for the world. 

Then tragedy strikes the group and their little show business family. Their manager, Blackie, and Rainey's mother, Jo, find themselves with heavy new responsibilities, and the change in circumstances causes the girls themselves to reconsider their lives.  

For years, singing onstage has been their only dream, and they have made so many sacrifices to get where they are. But now other possibilities - relationships, babies - are on the horizon. Could this be the end for The Bluebird Girls? 

©2020 Rosie Archer (P)2020 Quercus Editions Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • HF
  • 03-02-20

Another great book by Rosie Archer

Having just finished this book I can highly recommend it especially if you’ve read The Bluebird Girls & We’ll Meet Again. All three books have had the “I must listen to another chapter” affect on me. I live in Scotland but have visited Portsmouth and Gosport several times so I’m able to identify with some of the places named in the books. They are well written and I felt a connection with the girls - even though I was born after the war and rationing ending. I’m now left hoping for another book with The Bluebird Girls in it so I can find out how their lives have worked out after all the joy and heartbreaking times they have gone through. The only downside was I found the narrator a bit distracting with her voices - especially the male ones. If you like Rosie Archer books like this book.