Listen free for 30 days

The Family Next Door

Narrated by: Barrie Kreinik
Length: 8 hrs and 53 mins
4.2 out of 5 stars (117 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A gripping novel full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It's the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn't fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon captures the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers. But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange's compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won't let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread - and they're about to find out that when you look at something too closely, you'll see things you never wanted to see.

©2018 Sally Hepworth (P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What listeners say about The Family Next Door

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great,

Three different couples, 3 different stories, one street, all really entertaining. Similar to Liane Moriarty, not quite as edgy, but still holds your interest. Recommended, I will read more from this author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

AWFUL NARRATION

Terrible narrator, slow story line,not good - apart from sending me to sleep every night.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

Loved this... So many stories in one. Felt for all the characters and couldn't put it down.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant. Funny. Sad

This story was really well written. I didn't want to stop listening. It was very heartwarming.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining

A nice short and light read. Very reminiscent of books by Liane Moriarty but not as intricate. I enjoyed it but don't think that it'll stick with me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Listen

I found it hard to remember which character was which, as they all are of same age range with very similar story lines, however I did enjoy getting to know them.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good reveal

It took me a while to get into it and I kept getting Fran and Angie and their husbands mixed up (maybe the characters and their stories were too similar) but once the story took off and I started to get a sense of where it was going I really enjoyed it. I will look for more books by the same author.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great listen

Loved this book, the narrator is really good! The only "bad" thing I can say is that sometimes the chapters are quite short and you feel like you're jumping from character to character alot.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyed

I found this book to be really likeable, the characters were well thought out and worked, and to be honest we all know someone who has some of the traits outlined, the twist was good and it wasn’t until quite late in the story I guessed it - would highly recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book!! Amazing story!!

I love Leanne Moriarty and I have been searching for authors like her and this is the first book I have come across that makes me feel like I found another contender. Beautiful!!