Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A gripping novel full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It's the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn't fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon captures the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers. But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange's compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won't let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread - and they're about to find out that when you look at something too closely, you'll see things you never wanted to see.

©2018 Sally Hepworth (P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What listeners say about The Family Next Door

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

Loved this... So many stories in one. Felt for all the characters and couldn't put it down.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant. Funny. Sad

This story was really well written. I didn't want to stop listening. It was very heartwarming.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great,

Three different couples, 3 different stories, one street, all really entertaining.
Similar to Liane Moriarty, not quite as edgy, but still holds your interest.
Recommended, I will read more from this author.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

AWFUL NARRATION

Terrible narrator, slow story line,not good - apart from sending me to sleep every night.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thankfully totally unexpected

I saw this title and thought it was going to be a serial killer next door, instead I found it totally relate able to family life everywhere.
We live next door to people assuming everything is perfect or normal in their homes, often finding out too late that this is not the case.
As I mum I laughed at loud, and sobbed reading this, trying to imagine the situations that arose.
Highly recommend x

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great easy listen.

Narrator was good. Don't know why but I was initially surprised it was set in Australia and the narrator Australian.

A solid story centred around 3 families, that upon the first look, appear to be untroubled and straightforward. It's not untill the introduction of a fourth female character that cracks begin to appear.

The main plot twist surprised me, I thought I'd figured out which way it was going but it veered off somewhere else.

A close examination of marriage and hurdles and bumps in the road nicely explored.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining

A nice short and light read. Very reminiscent of books by Liane Moriarty but not as intricate. I enjoyed it but don't think that it'll stick with me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyed

I found this book to be really likeable, the characters were well thought out and worked, and to be honest we all know someone who has some of the traits outlined, the twist was good and it wasn’t until quite late in the story I guessed it - would highly recommend

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book!! Amazing story!!

I love Leanne Moriarty and I have been searching for authors like her and this is the first book I have come across that makes me feel like I found another contender. Beautiful!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a....

lovely realistic story about three families with real situations and problem within families with the twists and turns within it. The narrator was very good.