Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

"You're never too old to live and never too young to die."  

When PI Steve Jobz is hired by the cops to investigate an elementary school Lunch Room Lady who is said to have extorted hundreds of thousands of dollars from the school cafeteria, he thinks, “Easy peasy. No big deal.” Hey, he might even get some tater tots out of it.  

But what seems like a simple job checking up on a sweet old lady with sticky fingers soon turns into a storm of bullets, murder, and a twist of an ending that will make your head spin.  

For fans of Harlan Coben, Don Winslow, Michael Connelly, Charlie Houston, and more, comes the third full-length Steve Jobz PI novel from New York Times and USA Today best-selling thriller and Shamus Award-winning author, Vincent Zandri. 

Scroll up to nab yours now.

©2019 Vincent Zandri (P)2019 Vincent Zandri

What listeners say about The Extortionist

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeff & Sabrena
  • Jeff & Sabrena
  • 10-03-20

Jobz immature infatuation with women gets tiresome

Steve Jobz immature infatuation with women, his boozing, and his poor judgement in general all get a bit tiresome, but I like Jobz and Miller as characters and the humorous interplay between them. Again, this story is pretty contrived and improbable, though.

Andrew B. Wehrlen continues to deliver a consistent performance with this third audiobook in the series.

NOTE: I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rosemarie
  • Rosemarie
  • 13-02-20

Thriller with a Twist

An exciting Jobsz book that captures the reader's / listeners interest and holds it until the epilogue.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Q Garcia
  • Q Garcia
  • 20-01-20

Murder & Extortion

A murder leads Jobz to an extortion ring targeting a school and a senior living home. It's up to Jobz to find if the murder is connected to the thefts. I was gifted this from the author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ellen  Oceanside
  • Ellen Oceanside
  • 09-01-20

Unusual Case & Ending

Lunch monitor at a grammar school, within 5 years she had embezzled half a million. Was not a simple case for PI Steve, giving us a story filled with laughs and an usual ending. Given ARC audio which was good for my voluntary review and my honest opinion