Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

When a killer’s podcast reveals more than the truth....

Esme is a start-up success who runs her own successful media company and heads up a series of investigative podcasts. She also has a beautiful home, where she lives with her sister, Michelle, and her son, Zachary. Sure, there’s an ex-husband hanging around - Owen likes to pop round a bit too often - but everything is civilised and amicable. She has life all tied up.

But Esme knows that any successful podcaster is only as good as her last story, so she sets out on a new series of interviews to get to the truth behind Simone Fischer’s high-profile murder of her husband. Self-defence, crime of passion or coldly pre-meditated?

She emerges after one jail visit to discover that her sister has been viciously attacked and is in a coma. And so begins the unravelling of Esme’s life. Where she thought there was trust and loyalty, she slowly discovers deceit and betrayal. No one is quite who they seem - not even her closest family. 

As the podcast interviews plunge deeper into revealing the unnerving psychology of a murderer, Esme must try to keep her own sanity intact. The truth - about Simone and Esme’s own family - is there, if Esme can only find it. But will her investigations reveal more than she ever wanted to know?

This taut psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Serial and Kathleen Barber’s Truth Be Told.

©2021 KL Slater (P)2021 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about The Evidence

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A binger!

This is what I call a binger, keeps you up all night cause you can't put it down.

Interesting plot line that bends and weves and keeps the old noggin working all the way to the end. Even if you think you know who done what, you have to find out just how that who dunnit.

I have only 1 low star rating and thats unfortunately due to the second narrator. What were you thinking? Its an awful match, made even more excruciating by the main narrator who is spot on. The mind boggles at where the selection process went with this one.

That aside, great story, keeps your interest xx

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Decent enough story and Clare Corbett fantastic

Okay story, twisty and bingeable enough. Great work by Clare Corbett as always. But what on earth is with the second female narrator. It’s like like listening to Meryl Streep working with a random am dram group lead. So embarrassing. She can barely get each word out. Ruins it.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Awful second narrator

I enjoyed this book but at the point where the second narrator had a large part, I switched off, cannot listen to another second! It’s like she can’t read! And totally out of character with weird accents finding their way into sentences, such a shame as main narrator is fab!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good listening

K L Slater always writes a good story. Easy to get into and a satisfyong ending.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awful narrator for Justine

Another great story by K L Slater but the character of Justine is narrated so poorly it's offputting.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t put down.

Only book by this author I’ve been able to guess the ending, but that’s because it’s true to life, so any other wouldn’t have made sense.
Still, not disappointed as many twists and turns throughout the book, making me curse aloud at the character’s revelations. Would highly recommend as with all KL Slater books. Can’t wait for the next.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!!!

Have enjoyed most of kl slater books and this one is definitely one of the top listens. Look forward to more👍👍

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story

Good story with excellent narration by Clare Corbett (who sounds like there’s a whole cast of characters in the room) and the lady voicing Simone. As for the other female narrator, she sounded like a silly voice from Monty Python or the Goons. What an extraordinary choice.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good audiobook

Its actually a good book. I liled the story and the narrative. It keeps the reader interested from the beginning till the end. Would definitely recommend!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good engrossing story

I enjoyed reading this book. This book kept my attention and was a light 'who done it' book.
Naration was very good. I would read another from this author.

3 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marisa
  • Marisa
  • 14-02-21

One of Slater’s best.

The Evidence was great. I had to binge-listen to it because I could barely turn it off. The suspense and twists were fantastic and the characters were interesting, plus great writing and narration and you have a winner. Highly recommended.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 24-02-21

Not bad . . . Just Not Great

The beginning is rather clever and engaging, a podcast within an audible book. The middle part with its multiple backstories feels draggy and somewhat disjointed, then I just kept waiting to get on with it and get to the end already to see how everything was supposed to come together. Part of the issue for me was the narration - her monotone voice sometimes rambled into more of a "mumble" and with the added British accent, I found myself going back multiple times to replay what was just said - particularly true if you listen like I do, with my device in part of the room I'm in, and not up close like in the car or with headphones. Overall, I didn't dislike the book, it has its moments . . . just wasn't wowed.