Listen free for 30 days

The Evening and the Morning

Narrated by: John Lee
Series: The Kingsbridge Novels, Book 0
Length: 24 hrs and 19 mins
4.7 out of 5 stars (410 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

International number-one best seller Ken Follett returns with The Evening and the Morning, a thrilling and addictive novel from the master of historical fiction. 

It is 997 CE, the end of the Dark Ages, and in England one man's ambition to make his abbey a centre of learning will take the listener on an epic journey into a historical past rich with ambition and rivalry, death and birth, love and hate. 

Thirty years ago, Ken Follett published his most popular novel, The Pillars of the Earth, which has sold more than 27 million copies worldwide. 

Now, this novel, the prequel, will take the listeners on an epic journey that will end where The Pillars of the Earth begins.

©2020 Ken Follett (P)2020 Penguin Random House LLC

What listeners say about The Evening and the Morning

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    321
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    306
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    288
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a book to read over and over

what a wonderful story. captivating from the start to the end. I could start again.

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant tale

This is so well written, however, I felt so stressed in parts because of the way people were treated, or how some behaved that I found it difficult to keep going! However......... I had to keep reading as I NEEDED to know the fate of the characters. This is the sign of a brilliant author, I was living WITH the characters and was fully involved! But..... So stressful! 😊

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ed
  • 25-09-20

Tell me if you've heard this one before

As a stand alone novel, it's ok, maybe even good. As a part of a sensational series which I've read several times it's the worst of the four. A young genius hero builder falls in love with an intelligent and practical noble woman. Their love is forbidden and they are kept apart for years. The noble woman makes bad choices and suffers horrendous treatment by the other nobles. There's an evil Bishop and a good prior locked in a battle between god and greed. That's the plot of the first book Pillars of the earth. It's also the exact same plot of this book. Except without all the fascinating and engrossing characters. If this were a film I'd call it a remake. It's the same book, with almost the same characters just done worse.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great book from Follet

Not entirely sure where the low ratings are coming from. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it takes unexpected twists and turns, keeping you wondering what will happen next. I ended up binge listening to it and now I'm sad it's over...

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Enjoyed this so much more than the disappointing Column of Fire, the last of The Kingsbridge trilogy, it’s a worthy prequel and much more in the vein of Pillars of the Earth and Workd Without End.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great book

It’s a while since I originally read (listened to ) this series, but I quickly found myself back in time. As you would expect, a wonderfull story, with great characters... no one does evil villains like Ken Follett and John Lee does a brilliant job of bringing them to life.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Magnificence

Follet and Lee at their magnificent best a partnership born for storytelling, Ken writes a great tale John bring it to lfe with his silky skillful tones. Want to reread trilogy after listening to this prequel. A must read listen

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a cracking Tale!!

Masterfully presented and energetically sustained through bitter and sweet events. Gripping story, great characterizaton. Thanks

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The narrator is one toned I can't listen any more

Really struggling listening to this. Only got to chapter 4. No charecter in the narration.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Poor Effort

I bought the Pillars of the Earth 30 years ago and I was entranced. How could the story of the building of a cathedral be so exciting, interesting and moving? I recommended the book to all my friends and it soon became a firm favourite. The sequel, World Without End, was a pale imitation of the first book. It stuck too closely to the original, and the wrap around mystery was disappointing . The third book was a marked improvement, the action wasn't just set in Kingsbridge, the scale was bigger and the book was better for this. It actually laid the groundworks for the English Civil War and that was the direction that I'd hoped the author would go when I heard a new book was imminent. This however is poor. Its a prequel of The Pillars of the Earth set in the reign of Ethelred the Unready one of the late Anglo-Saxon kings. The characters of headstrong proto feminist noble woman, handy builder learning as he goes along (with a foreign interlude) and the noble/corrupt priest are all here. The characters are thinly written and the situations they find themselves in are uninteresting. Whole storylines are lifted from Follett's own books. Storylines are set up and fizzle as though the author had got as bored as I had. Ken Follett is a frustrating writer, some of his books are superb, some are fine page turnovers but some are thieves of your valuable reading/listening time. This book is one of his worst and easily the worst Kingsbridge book. It's the last time I'll automatically download one of the authors books in the first week. I'll wait for more listener reviews.

3 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brett
  • Brett
  • 22-10-20

Brilliant . Captivating as Pillars of the Earth

Loved this story. Such a good narrator. Ken Follett you have outdone yourself keeping the story of this period in time alive for us today.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-10-20

superb medieval story

loved the story but frustrated at the hesitating style of reading.. INcredible insight into life in first century.one lives through ur all on every page.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for igshaan higgins
  • igshaan higgins
  • 16-10-20

Absolutely Brilliant

The ultimate voyage through time. This is probably his best work. Thank you for 7 days of listening bliss🙏🏽

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Unni F. W.
  • Unni F. W.
  • 03-10-20

Absolutely wonderful!

There is just one bad thing about this book, and that is that it had to end! I wish it would last longer!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cami
  • Cami
  • 02-10-20

Entertaining as always

The story is well constructed and told, I was sorry when it ended. However, I get a bit annoyed by the "nice" people in the story having the moral ethics of our time, not their. i find it suspect when a noble lady finds love between two female acceptable, and slavery bad.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandie
  • Sandie
  • 24-09-20

Loved every word

Such a pleasure to listen to this superb narration. Loved the story and a brilliant prequel to the other books in this series. Total listening pleasure!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 24-09-20

An awesome prelude

I loved this book. Ken Follet never fails to keep one riveted. Beautifully crafted story that makes me what to reread the Pillars series. This book was clearly and intuitively read and has been the highlight of this month.