Listen free for 30 days

The English Wife

Narrated by: Katy Sobey, Helen Keeley
Length: 12 hrs and 30 mins

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Two women, a world apart. A secret waiting to be discovered....

VE Day, 1945: as victory bells ring out across the country, war bride Ellie Burgess’ happiness is overshadowed by grief. Her charismatic Newfoundlander husband Thomas is still missing in action.

Until a letter arrives explaining Thomas is back at home on the other side of the Atlantic recovering from his injuries.

Travelling to a distant country to live with a man she barely knows is the bravest thing Ellie has ever had to do. But nothing can prepare her for the harsh realities of her new home.... 

September 11th 2001: Sophie Parry is on a plane to New York on the most tragic day in the city’s history. While the world watches the news in horror, Sophie’s flight is rerouted to a tiny town in Newfoundland and she is forced to seek refuge with her estranged aunt Ellie.

Determined to discover what it was that forced her family apart all those years ago, newfound secrets may change her life forever.... 

This is a timeless story of love, sacrifice and resilience perfect for fans of Lorna Cook and Gill Paul.

©2020 Adrienne Chinn (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"An emotive and engaging read." (Rosanna Ley)

"Rich, evocative and utterly immersive, this beautifully written book swept me away." (Jenny Ashcroft)

What listeners say about The English Wife

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.