Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £31.99

Buy Now for £31.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

From the Sunday Times best-selling author Manda Scott, a high-octane, stirring and exciting historical adventure full of intrigue and action. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden.

AD 64. Rome is burning. Only one man can save it.

The emperor: Nero, emperor of Rome and feared by his subjects for his temper and cruelty, is in possession of an ancient document predicting that Rome will burn.

The spy: Sebastos Pantera, assassin and spy for the Roman Legions, is ordered to stop the impending cataclysm. He knows that if he doesn't, his life - and that of thousands of others - is in terrible danger.

The chariot boy: Math, a young charioteer, subject to the wiles and schemes of the emperor and the spy. 

Who will win this game, where death stalks the drivers - on the track and off it?

©2010 Manda Scott (P)2021 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

"As exciting as Ben Hur, and far more accurate...." (The Independent)

"A gripping tale...." (Daily Mail)

What listeners say about The Emperor's Spy

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • sm
  • 17-03-21

Great follow on to the Boudica Series

Having recently read the Boudica series which was excellent I was looking forward to this new series coming out, and I was not disappointed. Great story which follows on from the Boudica series, so I would suggest reading that 1st, as the characters link which makes it much more interesting. Brilliantly read as always by Philip Stevens who is probably my favourite narrator at the moment.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good in parts

I’ll be honest, there parts of this book where it dragged for me. There’s not a specific criticism I can point to and in general I quite enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great follow up to the Boudica series.

Thoroughly enjoyed listening to another great story by Manda Scott. This really helped fill the void left after finishing the Boudica books & it was great to hear some familiar names in this story.
As always, Philip Stevens narration is spot on & a joy to listen to. Can't wait to get stuck into the next one!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JL
  • 13-07-21

An entertaining listen

I tried this having loved the Boudica series by Manda Scott. Although I haven't found the characters as compelling as those in the stories about Boudica, it is nevertheless a great listen and I would recommend it to anyone to try, whether a fan of Manda Scott or new to her writing. Looking forward to the second instalment now.