Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Some secrets are best left buried.... 

Researching her family tree had been little more than a hobby - until Katie stepped onto Kingsley House’s sprawling, ivy-strewn drive. The house may be crumbling today, but it was once the intimidatingly opulent residence of the St Clairs, Katie’s ancestors.

Arriving here 200 years later, emotion stirs in Katie: a strange nostalgia for a place she’s never seen before...and when Kingsley House comes up for sale, Katie is determined that her family must buy it.

Surrounded by the mysteries of the past, Katie’s pastime becomes a darker obsession, as she searches through history to trace her heritage. But she soon discovers that these walls house terrible secrets. And when forgotten stories and hidden betrayals come to light, the past seems more alive than Katie could ever have imagined.

Moving between the 21st and 19th centuries, The Emerald Comb is a hauntingly evocative novel, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore. 

©2020 Kathleen McGurl (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Emerald Comb

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great readers

I liked it that the reader changed according to whose perspective it was written. The story itself was good, partly predictable and also a bit wooden when Bartholomew explained why the letter was written in third person rather than first and that Sometimes it was written from Agnes perspective. It sounded more like a as if the author wasn't sure how to build in Agnes point of view so this was an easy way out. Nonetheless it wouldn't stop me from listening /reading because overall I enjoyed the book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jasmine Robinson
  • Jasmine Robinson
  • 23-12-20

Good story but not exciting

This was an enjoyable story but just not up to par with Kathleen McGurl’s other stories like Girl from Ballymor or Secrets of the Chateau. Narrators did a great job.