Listen free for 30 days

The Eagle's Prey

Eagles of the Empire, Book 5
Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
Series: Eagles of the Empire, Book 5
Length: 13 hrs and 36 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
5 out of 5 stars (366 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The Eagle's Prey is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. A must-listen for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

It is late summer AD 44, and the battle-weary Roman legions are in their second year of campaigning against the British tribes. The troops' commander, General Plautius, is under pressure from the emperor to crush the natives once and for all.

Centurions Macro and Cato are with the crack Second Legion under the precarious leadership of Centurion Maximus, and it's their task to hold a ford across the river Tamesis when the natives are forced into a trap. But Maximus' nerve breaks at the critical point, allowing the enemy leader, Caratacus, and his men to escape.

Outraged by this failure, General Plautius orders the decimation of the unit. Their choice: die, or escape to become fugitives pursued by soldiers of their own ruthless army. Hiding from their former comrades as well as the Britons, Cato's small band of fugitives have only one chance to redeem themselves before they are hunted down like animals.

©2004 Simon Scarrow (P)2017 Headline Digital

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    302
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    292
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    277
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

As always fantastic

From start to finish I was lost in Cato and Macro's world. You must start this collection if you have not already.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
  • 18-03-19

Brilliant! Best yet

As a 70+ female i'm not really into graphic descriptions of battlefield killings, so some of the earlier books in this series have caused me to fast forwared. This one, however, although pretty graphic at times, was so well structured with other action on more than one front, and so well read by a narrator who can 'do the voices' very convincinglly that I was gripped throughout and finished the book in just two long sessions. My favourite so far - to the extent that I immediately ordered the next in the series 'The Eagle's Prophecy'. (Big disappointment. New narrator - a Liverpudlian who has given our heroes totally different voices. Macro now sounds like Sharpe..and Cato has lost the refined palace edge to his voice. Also can't believe that 'Ravenna' could be mispronounced throughout.)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The fantastic 5th book

In this book the 3rd Cohort of the 2nd Legion are in the shit and have to work hard to get out of it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

fast paced story

I really enjoyed this book, love the narrator, well worth a listen. Kato has become a more bitter character this time around, his infuriating petulance of the earlier books makes way for cunning and leadership instead. well worth a listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I hadn’t realised

I hadn’t realised that it was possible for this series to get any better? It just did. I loved this continuing chronicle of Cato and Macro. Top marks ... and so on to the next one!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • 21-05-18

AWESOME reading continues!

having real problems putting this series down, fantastic books indeed. This brings Roman Britain to life again while deepening the insight into Cato and Macros characters. will be starting the next book straight away!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not guilty

knowing there are more books to come, relieves your thoughts of poor cato sentenced to death, but doesn't detract from the atmosphere of the story. Simon scarrow again puts our hero's in endless perils, even from thier own side. its a great read but there's sadness at the brutality of both sides.. there's always one man out for himself ,or just totally cruel.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Simon
  • Camberley
  • 24-10-17

Britannia battles on

Good read/listen, a bit relentless if your not keen on blood and guts. But enjoyable none the less

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent, as always

loved it. Jonathan keeble narration very good, very enjoyable, superb voices and easy to recognise.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pawns Are Important Too!

Once again our two heroes battle it out with both the belligerent British and the enemies from within including both incompetent senior officers and the devious upper echelons of the Roman army and Roman politics. This is a series that contains a lot of very good historical detail without ever taking itself too seriously. The chemistry between the introspective and academically-minded Cato and the bluff, straightforward Macro are what really makes these books. There is also of course great battle action plus some clever intrigue and with Jonathan Keeble at the microphone it will always get a fine airing.

As I get into the later stages of the series it will be interesting to see if Simon Scarrow manages to keep up this good form. So far, and for the next two which I have also read previously, so good.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Timothy
  • Timothy
  • 09-09-17

Solid Book.

Solid book. Narrator was good but enjoyed the narrator of the first two books better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stephen
  • Stephen
  • 22-04-17

Glad I finally got to hear it

I travel constantly so audiobooks are about the only way I get to read - and I don't know why Cato & Macro 4 & 5 were never available in the States, but I'm glad they finally are. I can give a review in one sentence: I liked the book so much I finished it in less than a day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gnorl Gnockwatts
  • Gnorl Gnockwatts
  • 05-08-19

Best of the first 5 in series.

Great from to finish. Keeble does a wonderful job in characterizations and pace adjustment. Scarrow at his best.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melissa
  • Melissa
  • 13-02-19

Great Series!

This series continues to impress! Always a joy to hear what new adventures Macro and Cato will be involved in.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mike From Mesa
  • Mike From Mesa
  • 15-09-18

Decimation

Macro and Cato are in trouble again, and this time it is very serious for Cato as his century has been selected for Decimation due to an order from a disgraced Centurian that led to a lost battle, and he and his men must find a way to elude the Legions looking for them and win their way back into the good graces of the army.

The story, as usual, is gripping and the descriptions seem as accurate as ever, but what makes these novels so interesting for me is that the characters involved seem full-fleshed and real, the situations they find themselves in seem reasonable, at least for those Roman times, and I find that I care about them as though they were real people. Mr Scarrow's writing is, as always, sharp, clean and gripping and the narration is as fine as ever. I know they will come through their troubles since there are other books following this one, but it always seems as though it is impossible and the tension comes at least as much as how they will do it as if they will do it.

Another wonderful book for those interested in the Roman Legions and the trial and tribulations of Macro and Cato.