Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Gunpowder and treason changed England forever. But the tides are turning and revenge runs deep in this compelling historical thriller for fans of C.J. Sansom, Andrew Taylor's Ashes of London, Kate Mosse and Blood & Sugar.

1606. A year to the day that men were executed for conspiring to blow up Parliament, a towering wave devastates the Bristol Channel. Some proclaim God's vengeance. Others seek to take advantage. 

In London, Daniel Pursglove lies in prison waiting to die. But Charles FitzAlan, close adviser to King James I, has a job in mind that will free a man of Daniel's skill from the horrors of Newgate. If he succeeds. 

For Bristol is a hotbed of Catholic spies, and where better for the lone conspirator who evaded arrest, one Spero Pettingar, to gather allies than in the chaos of a drowned city? Daniel journeys there to investigate FitzAlan's lead, but soon finds himself at the heart of a dark Jesuit conspiracy - and in pursuit of a killer. 

©2021 Karen Maitland (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"A dark and enthralling historical novel with a powerful narrative. The mysterious Daniel Pursglove has all the qualifications for a memorable series hero." (Andrew Taylor)

"Spies, thieves, murderers and King James I? Brilliant." (Conn Iggulden)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Drowned City

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Unlistenable due to awful narration.

Terrible, aggressive and sloppy narration. The narrator bites off the ends of many words, so Fleet Street becomes Flee Stree, etc. Erratic and nervy pace, veering wildly between too fast and too slow. Returned.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Drowned City

I thought this was a good story and as such it was a good listen. But I really didn’t like the style of the reader. The reading style was choppy and there was no difference between when something required emphasis and something was not disturbing or frightening. There were pauses in the middle of sentences and emojis on words where it was not required.

I only listened all the way through as the story was good and interesting. But I guess this might have just been me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book, soothing narration!

Enjoyed this book! Resonant, calming narration that suited the text well. Best listened to on some decent headphones.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent start to new series

I hadn’t realised that this was by the Karen Maitland who wrote Company of Liars but had I known, that would have guaranteed I read it. I thoroughly enjoyed the story and characters and the particular setting. The Bristol flooding made a great backdrop to the story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great start to a new series.

I love Karen Maitland's historical novels, I've not read a bad one. They are something to get your teeth into and she brings the past alive in all its gritty and harsh reality. Lots of twists and turns. One criticism was the narration wasn't quite right at times and you could hear where bits had been edited it in but it only slightly detracted from my overall enjoyment. I look forward to the next instalment.