Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

High-concept adventure thriller set in Egypt and Cornwall. What connects a lost hoard of ancient religious texts with a revival in satanic rituals? Perfect for fans of Wilbur Smith.

An ancient secret....

When a renowned historian is found dead in a cave in the Sahara, his former student Ryan Harper vows to find out what happened. Rumour suggests he’d uncovered a priceless religious text, obsessively hidden for centuries by a network of holy men.

Brought to light...

Meanwhile, on Cornwall’s remote western moorlands disturbing rituals are taking place - rituals that appear to have Egyptian connections. Working the case, DI Karen Trevithick is caught up in a dangerous mystery that will threaten the person she loves most.

Will shake the world.

With the help of filmmaker Helen Fassbinder, Ryan finds himself in a race against time to decipher the ancient text. Pursued across Egypt by those who would use its secrets to devastating effect, Ryan draws ever closer to an unspeakable truth. A truth that will expose the most shocking deceit the world has ever known….

©2013 Tom Knox (P)2013 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Tom Knox knows the DNA of an astonishing thriller. The Marks of Cain is a compelling and frightening novel, and it may well be the most controversial thriller since The Da Vinci Code. Action, history, religion, and genetics combine for a gripping read that will keep you reading late into the night." (Jeff Abbott, best-selling author of Panic and Fear)
"Steeped in both blood and history and keeps up a scorching pace from start to finish." (Northern Echo)
"Knox writes with a clean efficiency. The characters are nicely wrought.… Best of all, Knox really knows his stuff and his discourses on ancient man, human sacrifice, demons of the mid-east and obscure pre-Judaic religions are all woven into the plot seamlessly. I'm reminded of why I always liked these type of books, because not only do the best ones grip and propel you through their pages but they also leave you a little more knowledgeable than when you started" (Shotsmag)

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great adventure

A good book with plenty of twists and turns in the plot. Dies a bit when talking about Crowley but all in all, worth every penny.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • BP1
  • Leicestershire, UK
  • 19-08-14

Can I give it 3.5 Stars?

Would you try another book written by Tom Knox or narrated by Nick Taylor?

Possibly, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Who was your favorite character and why?

To be honest, the main characters are fine but nothing standout.

Which character – as performed by Nick Taylor – was your favourite?

Nick Taylor read it well but no one particular favourite.

Did The Deceit inspire you to do anything?

Not particularly I'm afraid.

Any additional comments?

Its OK but it isn't anything special.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful