Regular price: £18.29

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Something bad has happened to Alison Taylor. 

Her Saturday night started normally. Recently separated from her husband, Ali has been persuaded by her friends to go on a date with a new man. She is ready, she is nervous, and she is excited. She is about to take a step into her new future.

By Sunday morning, Ali’s life is unrecognizable. She wakes, and she knows that something is wrong. She is home, she is alone, she is hurt, and she has no memory of what happened to her. 

Worse still, when she looks in the mirror, Ali doesn’t recognize the face staring back at her. She can’t recognize her friends and family. And she can’t recognize the person who is trying to destroy her....

From the number one best-selling author of The Sister, The Gift, and The Surrogate, The Date is a gripping pause resister that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Before I Go to Sleep.

What reviewers are saying about Louise Jensen: 

"This novel was paced perfectly and I actually finished it in one day because I couldn't put it down...so addictive!" (stephandchrisbookreviews.wordpress.com)

"My God! It's a bloody corker! An exquisite writer...Louise has completely knocked it out of the park and brought us all another amazing thriller! MY FIRST EVER GOLD STAR AWARD." (emmathelittlebookworm.wordpress.com) 

©2018 Louise Jensen (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting story

Love this, anyone who has enjoyed reading Girl on a train will enjoy this book, couldn't put it down

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Brilliantly written. Unravels itself at different points throughout the novel so you’re not quite sure what’s going on and who’s to blame. Really enjoyed it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Couldn't put it down

very good read. love the twists and turns. will definitely be reading other books by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Tense deep thriller

The writing is exquisite, the narration devine, making this such an immersive thriller you just don't want to put down. Not for the faint hearted!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping

lived it couldn't put it down. listened to the whole b9ok in a day lol .

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I really wanted to love this book. But it was long drawn out with unlikeable characters and a predictable plot.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Andrea Rberson
  • 14-07-18

Bad Date

I did not care for this book. The first few chapters were engaging and actually very suspenseful! But once the author entices the reader from the get go it falls flat. That’s a recurring issue I’ve found with many suspense novels-The beginning of the book is actually the climax and pages that follow are anti-climax.








3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Hm Baltimore
  • 05-07-18

Great Story

Narration was perfect.
Story kept me guessing until the end. Which I love!
I loved how flawed and complex all the characters were.
I feel like I know them all.
I miss them already.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Leanne K.
  • 19-07-18

SO SAD.

Don't let this book fool you... It is so twisted and you will constantly try to guess the ending. Definitely a sad ending though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Christalpistol
  • 17-07-18

Disappointed !!!

Once again another author is obsessed with giving readers a ‘twist’ that they ruined a good story with an improbable ending. I think The Girl on the Train has sabotaged so many other books since it came out and everyone was raving about the shocking twist! I think I’m going to start bypassing books that have ‘unexpected twist’ on the cover! Ugh!! The book started off really good and suspenseful 75% was great, then as advertised the shocking twist is just that, unbelievable. It just did not jive at all. I groaned and reluctantly listened to last couple hours. Thankfully this book was inexpensive. I would not recommend wasting money or credit on this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sheila S
  • 01-07-18

Neurological deficit enhances the suspense

An original twist sets this novel apart from the conventional woman-in-peril suspense/thriller. Specifically, the protagonist's inability to recognize faces following a disastrous blind date adds an original, intriguing aspect to the story. I was involved in the novel from beginning to end, despite its overly convoluted plot. Recommended to fans of this genre.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Debbie De
  • 30-06-18

Twisted Date night

Louise Jensen wrote magically as Jasmine Blackborow repeated her words elegantly.
Ally has a bad date night and to make it worse... she wakes up with facial recognition disorder.
Someone is after her...but who!...she can't recongnize anyone.🤗
Loved the suspense! If you want a good novel this is it.
Leave it too Jensen to make your listening worth while.
5 🌟's

Offical Review by DeAnn DeVille: Audiobook Blogger/Narrator/Author

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Susan
  • 25-07-18

Too slow moving

The story was unique and interesting. The plot progression was really slow with far too many little details. The main character was incredibly narrow in her views making ridiculous decisions for her safety and for her love life. I finished the book but would not suggest others read it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • stephanie r thompson
  • 11-08-18

Return to sender

Couldn’t finish! Slow, pathetic and Tired!
Save your money and credits! Pass! Pass!
The End!
The

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Angela M. Dokos
  • 09-08-18

Awesome!!!

I loved this story. Keeps you guessing. Edge of your seat. Great characters. Well written.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-08-18

Great Story from the Beginning

I really enjoyed this read... usually books take a while to build up or get you interested. Not this one... from the first Chapter honestly I was hooked, it makes sure you want to keep reading (listening). I went ahead and looked up other books by Louise Jensen just because I loved this STORY that much!!! Don't skip this book you guys!!!!