Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

For fans of Lev Grossman and Terry Pratchett comes this delightful novel of war, mystery and a little bit of magic....

As Spitfires roar overhead and a dark figure stalks the village of Woodville, a young woman will discover her destiny....

Faye Bright always felt a little bit different. And today she’s found out why. She’s just stumbled across her late mother’s diary which includes not only a spiffing recipe for jam roly-poly, but spells, incantations, runes and recitations...a witch's notebook.

And Faye has inherited her mother’s abilities. 

Just in time, too. The Crow Folk are coming. Led by the charismatic Pumpkinhead, their strange magic threatens Faye and the villagers. Armed with little more than her mum's words, her trusty bicycle, the grudging help of two bickering old ladies and some aggressive church bellringing, Faye will find herself on the front lines of a war nobody expected.

Fall in love with the extraordinary world of Faye Bright - it's Maisie Dobbs meets The Magicians.

©2021 Mark Stay (P)2021 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic reviews

"Warm, witty, witchy wartime fun. With Mark Stay as writer you're always guaranteed a magical read." (Julie Wassmer, author of the Whitstable Pearl Mysteries)

"You'll love it: Doctor Who meets Worzel Gummidge." (Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village)

"A jolly romp with witches, demons, and bellringing. Pratchett fans will enjoy this, and Faye is a feisty and fun hero. Dad's Army meets Witches of Eastwick." (Ian W. Sainsbury)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Crow Folk

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.