Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.39

Buy Now for £14.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The Witches of Woodville, Part 2

July, 1940

In a quiet village in rural Kent, a magical mystery leads to murder....

Woodville has returned to 'normal' after the departure of the Crow Folk. The villagers put out fires from aircraft shot down in the Battle of Britain, and Faye Bright discovers that magic can be just as dangerous as any weapon.

The arrival of a trio of Jewish children fleeing the Nazis brings the fight for Europe to the village. When their guardian is found dead, Faye must play nanny to the terrified children while gathering clues to uncover a dark magic that threatens to change the course of the war. And she must do it quickly—the children have seen too much, and someone wants them silenced for good.

For fans of Lev Grossman and Terry Pratchett comes the second novel in this delightful trilogy of war, mystery and a little bit of magic....

Don't miss the other magical books in the Witches of Woodville series!

  1. The Crow Folk
  2. Babes in the Wood
  3. The Ghost of Ivy Barn 
©2021 Mark Stay (P)2021 Simon & Schuster Audio

Critic reviews

"ACE. Smart and funny and written so warmly. It's an absolutely smashing read." (Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World?)

What listeners say about Babes in the Wood

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A must read for fans of the first book.

The adventures of the cast of Woodville return, but this time the dangers of WW2 have increased, which the story quickly dives in to. With many new people in the village, as a result of the war, Faye and friends lives are busier and then things turn deadly. A must read for fans of the first book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Crafty storytelling and enchanting narration

Again I have delighted in the story of Faye Bright and her fantastic friends. Battling evil and trying to survive WWII can take its toll but Faye continues to shine like a beacon.

The characters are brilliant. The plot is paced and exciting and the story itself is wonderfully written. And the narration is fantastic! I can honestly say I haven’t enjoyed a narrator as much as I do Candida Gubbins.

I was enthralled from the first sentence of the first book, The Crow Folk, and I continued to be enthralled by this, the second book and I am absolutely positive I will be enthralled with the third - which I will be listening to next.

I highly recommend this book, the first book and I imagine anything Mark Stay writes and Candida Gubbins narrates. What a brilliant combination they make!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous book

What a wonderful book I look forward to the next one definitely recommended if you want a feel good book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another lovely Witches of Woodville

I really enjoyed this episode in the life of Faye. looking forward to the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story and spot on narration

Charming, cinematic and never misses an emotional beat. A twisty tale through posh manors, country fairs and Nazi sorcery, that wraps up in a neat and satisfying bow. What!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More excellent tales from Mr Stay

I’ve read everything that Mark Stay has ever published. As an author I find his work to be of excellent quality, humorous, insightful and above all else fun.

Therefore, I delighted to be able to say that Babes In The Wood continues this tradition. It follows the story of a young girl Faye as she grows up contending with the trials of being a young girl with special abilities, set against the horror of World War 2 and other horrors closer to home. The book is a wonderful slice of British humour and is fun and exciting as well.

Highly recommended listenkng for all ages, and in particular for people with good taste in audio books.

More please...