Listen free for 30 days

The Cosy Teashop in the Castle

Narrated by: Eloise Secker
Length: 8 hrs and 45 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (22 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Can Ellie bake her way to a happy ever after? A deliciously heartwarming novel for fans of Lucy Diamond and Milly Johnson.

When Ellie Hall lands her dream job running the little teashop in the beautiful but crumbling Claverham Castle, it’s the perfect escape from her humdrum job in the city. Life is definitely on the rise as Ellie replaces spreadsheets for scones and continues her Nanna’s brilliant baking legacy.

When Lord Henry, the stick-in-the-mud owner, threatens to burst her baking bubble with his old-fashioned ways, Ellie wonders if she might have bitten off more than she can chew. But cupcake by cupcake she wins the locals over, including teashop stalwart Doris, and Ellie’s showstopping bakes look set to go down in castle history!

Now all that’s missing in Ellie’s life is a slice of romance. Can Joe, the brooding estate manager, be the one to put the cherry on the top of Ellie’s dream?

©2018 Caroline Roberts (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"Cakes, castles and oodles of charm: this book is huge fun and pure escapism." (Cathy Bramley)

"A top-rated romance which I devoured quicker than a slice of Victoria Sponge. Beautifully written, warm, funny, cosy, romantic and sweeter than a tray full of cookie dough." (Bookaholic Confessions)

What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the cosy teashop in the castle

very good listen liked how her dream come true also the family connections was nice I like the use of the nans hand written cook book it's an easy listen audiobook

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Awkward narration

Fab story but really difficult to listen to. I gave up due to the constant pauses and incorrect inflections. Such a shame

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Joe and Ellie.

I fell into the romance of Joe and Ellie, want more, what happens next for them, the tea rooms and the castle.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring and repetitive all the way

Boring and repetitive all the way. Didn’t even listen to the last 30min. There is no story

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

see-through and sickly sweet

Take a glass of pure water, add 10 table spoons of sugar... now drink! That is this book -- nothing to surprise you, nothing to move you... see-through and sickly sweet. But, if that is what you want, it is absolutely perfect for you!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Samantha McGraw
  • Samantha McGraw
  • 04-01-20

What a disappointment

The book's narrator is delightful and thoroughly enjoyed the book . . . to a point. But once this sweet, cozy romance suddenly became an erotic sex scene and the main character went from being sweet and naive to a sex-crazed woman, I was done. I had high hopes for this book and even considered featuring it on my book blog until it went sideways. Doubt I'll read anything from this author again.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-05-20

Fun Beach Read!

A cute, fun and adorable love story. Perfect during quarantine to lift the spirits and bring a smile to my face. Absolutely adorable!!!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kristyn Rose
  • Kristyn Rose
  • 25-02-20

A Sweet (slightly predictable) Story

This story is somewhat predictable, but the characters and situations are well-done. They are distinctive and well-developed. They are believable, even when frustrating you when they make terrible choices and refuse to listen to one another. At the end, I was sorry to see them go from my imagination, and I was sorry to see there's been no sequel! One warning: the sex scenes are STEAMY, so if that offends, don't read this one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paula Beavan
  • Paula Beavan
  • 12-12-19

Another author to add to my favourites

This story is heartwarming and so lovely to listen to. The entire cast was relatable and I fell in love with them all.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 20-11-19

Great read

Believeable characters. Warm story. Couldn't stop had to finish. Inspiring for anyone who has a dream to restart their life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 27-07-19

The Cosy Teashop in the Castle

The Cosy Teashop in the Castle. I loved this book the author has you knowing everyone warm story. It is a good cosy read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa Whitley
  • Lisa Whitley
  • 04-09-18

Modern Day Fairy-Tale!

A very pleasant listen! A little predictable with a few great twists! You'll love the characters and the descriptions have you there! Recommended listen!