Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

You find out who did it in the very first minute. In the last, you'll find out why.

Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear.

Just an hour later the attacker, JP Carney, has handed himself in to the police. He confesses to beating Harry to death, but JP claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn't know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, the detectives cannot help wondering, was this really a random act of violence or is it linked to one of Harry's many sins: corruption, greed, betrayal?

This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who - of Harry, Julie and JP - is really the guilty one? And is Carney's surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game?

The most gripping psychological thriller of 2018. Perfect for fans of He Said, She Said and The Couple Next Door.

©2018 Jo Spain (P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic reviews

"I can't praise The Confession enough. Brilliant writing, great story...a really cracking read." (BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown)
"Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision." (JP Delaney, author of The Girl Before)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I cannot rate this book highly enough.

What made the experience of listening to The Confession the most enjoyable?

It seems that most books of this type now have to have a 'twist' to make them memorable. I wouldn't say that this book necessarily had a twist but it left the listener thinking and determining. The narration was first class and the Irish turns of phrase were enjoyable at the start, before we then got into the depth of the story. It was accurate in its depiction of the rise and fall in Ireland and there was a nod to all things that were corrupt at the time. I loved this book and came across it by accident. I will certainly be looking out for Jo Spain again.

Which character – as performed by Michele Moran and Christopher Bonwell – was your favourite?

Without a doubt, JP was the favourite character but as far as all the other characters were portrayed, it was easy to completely get to grips with them, likeable or not.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes, but time wouldn't allow. However, I think I managed it over three days.

Any additional comments?

I am going to investigate Jo Spain's other novels. I think I love her.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the confession.

I don't usually like these types of books but this one kept me thinking with lots of twists and turns.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Brilliantly read, and I couldn’t put it down from the first chapter to the last

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, so many twists

Loved the depth of the characters, as a listener i was fully engaged. Would highly recommend this to all who enjoys a great crime/thriller story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant

loved it.narrator was great. . brilliant story telling.. looking forward to the next one .

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

very good kept me hooked till the last page didn't want it to end good narrater

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

An excellent listen

The narration of this book was just excellent. Hat's off to Michele Moran and Christopher Bonwell. The drip feed of the plot was clever and enticing and with a long journey giving me the opportunity to really get my ears in, a day off work today meant chores were put aside while I devoured the rest of the book. It was hard to stop listening which is a rarity! Some books are just a nice easy listen but this really gripped you. It was slightly predictable in places - you can kind of see what's coming but you are left guessing and wondering how it's going to pan out. I was a bit disappointed with the ending but maybe that means book 2 is on the cards....

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Entertaining, but predictable

I really enjoyed 'With our blessing' so had high expectations of this novel. It didn't grip me somehow and I found the main female character unbelievably naive and, ultimately, irritating. I also found the two-handed approach detracted rather than added to the story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Brilliant narration

Storyline is ok. I think the twist was not particularly great but the narration was a1.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CILLY STURMBERG
  • 04-07-18

GRIPPING

THIS BOOK KEPT ME INTEREST%ED THROUGHOUT.JO SPAIN ID A GREAT JOB AND I WILL BE LOOKING AT HER WORK TO READ MORE.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Paul FitzSimons
  • 23-04-18

Possibly my novel of the year

What did you love best about The Confession?

...and I'm only saying that because the year ain't over.

Two characters and the people around them live their accidentally and totally-on-purpose tragic lives.

Julie wonders why her husband Harry, the once-love-of-life, is brutally attacked in their home by stranger JP Carney. But, over the course of this intriguingly ever-winding story, we find out how and why the attack happened and how Julie knew more about attacker's motives and the victim's sins than she first let on.

Quality storytelling of this calibre is rare. I got to the end and went right back and read it again.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Julie, her initial innocence slowly unfurls to reveal a damaged and damaging heroine, one we fear, pity and despise in equal measure.