Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.39

Buy Now for £14.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The brand-new Christmas romance from the Sunday Times best-selling author Heidi Swain! Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Sarah Morgan and Cathy Bramley.

©2019 Heidi Swain (P)2019 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic reviews

"The most delicious slice of festive fiction: a true comfort read and the perfect Christmas treat to alleviate all the stress!" (Veronica Henry)

"Full of Heidi’s trademark gentle charm. Lock the door, pour some mulled wine and settle into this wonderful Christmas treat!" (Milly Johnson)

What listeners say about The Christmas Wish List

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    311
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    314
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    276
  • 4 Stars
    89
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The wish list.

Loved it so much I didn't want it to end.
Great book to cuddle up with on a cold
night.
Love Heidi Swains books.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Sooooo boring

Nothing unexpected and dialogue repetitive. Very disappointing. Stick to Karen Swann for great Christmas books.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

mediocre

the heroine was flimsy and weak. The narration was singsong. 3 stars were generous to be honest.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh so lovely!!!!

This has to be my most favourite Christmas story ever! I know listening to it in November is a little early but it has really got me in the mood and I will now relish some time with carols and presents to wrap!
The story is warm, cosy and very predictable which is just what you want for an atmospheric Christmas tale. There are moments that are a bit more challenging but only enough to stop it being too sweet!
Well, that's me done, I'm just off to look for properties for sale in Wynbridge now.......

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely warm listen

At first I thought this was going to be a standard, rather over-sweet example of chic- lit, but it was delightfully easy to listen to, and beautifully narrated as usual by Karen Cass, so I persevered. As the story progressed, it became more interesting and a bit grittier. The Christmassy aspects are a bit overdone, including snow arriving right on cue, but who cares? With warm, real characters, a delightful setting and perfect narration, what is there not to enjoy? I loved it, and didn’t want it to end.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Nothing says Christmas like a Coercive relationship

Had to stop listening to this as the lead was so pathetically entwined with the awful boyfriend … I know she will extricate herself but ffs she’s a drip made me feel all unchristmassy

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a lovely book

So easy to listen too such a lovely story such a sad ending but yet so happy too I love this book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I wish I'd never read this book

Lazy writing, predictable plot, unbelievable reactions from pootly crafted characters. The narrator was the best part of this book even though the editing was terrible and had several mistakes.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A truly heartwarming Christmas story

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this story. It was heartwarming, uplifting and really made me feel festive. Narrated brilliantly by Karen Cass. I will miss the characters now that I’ve finished it! Highly recommended!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Predictable but great listen

Story was predictable but I enjoyed every minute and love this Narrator and Heidi Swain is a great author to lovely Christmas feel good book

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 15-12-19

Absolutely wonderful

Heidi did it again !! I loved this book ! The characters are so real and the story about Christmas wishes is fabulous! I laughed, got mad, cried and felt good! The best Christmas book !

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lori
  • Lori
  • 24-01-20

Christmas magic

This was the first time I’ve read and listened to a book by Heidi Swain but The Christmas Wish List has made a fan out of me. This story was full of hope, love, and Christmas cheer. All the characters are wonderfully written and this story showing a growth in courage and character development is inspiring.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 30-12-19

The Christmas Wish List

The Christmas Wish List. I cannot understand why people love this book. It is basically about a woman who is made redundant. Her boyfriend wants her to move to the Middle East with his job. She goes to stay with her friend who is an old lady. Then meets a gorgeous man. I found it so boring. There were mentions of Christmas coming in a week, two weeks and putting up a Christmas tree. The woman was weak throughout the story. Not my cup of tea.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Allie McAllister
  • Allie McAllister
  • 02-12-20

Nice heartfelt Christmas story

Even though the main character is something of a ninny she grows up and figured herself out, while finding her Prince Charming.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christina
  • Christina
  • 21-12-21

Fantastic and Refreshing

A heartwarming story filled with the joy of true friendship relations.
It was refreshing to hear the story played out with such tender renderings by the actors. They made the characters come alive; very believable. All in all an excellent experience in storytelling. Thanks