Listen free for 30 days

The Catherine Howard Conspiracy

Marquess House Trilogy, Book 1
Narrated by: Emma Gregory
Series: Marquess House Trilogy, Book 1
Length: 16 hrs and 17 mins
4 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The Catherine Howard Conspiracy is the first audiobook in the Marquess House trilogy, a gripping dual time line conspiracy thriller with an ingenious twist on Tudor history. Perfect for fans of Dan Brown, Philippa Gregory and Kate Mosse. 

When Catherine Howard arrives at the court of King Henry VIII to be a maid of honour of the new queen, Anne of Cleves, she has no idea of the fate that awaits her. Catching the king’s fancy, she finds herself caught up in her uncle’s ambition to get a Howard heir to the throne. 

Meanwhile, in 2018, Dr Perdita Rivers receives news of the death of her estranged grandmother, renowned Tudor historian Mary Fitzroy. Journeying to her grandmother’s vast estate in Pembrokeshire, Perdita is drawn into the mystery of an ancient document in the archives of Marquess House, a collection of letters that claim the records of Catherine Howard’s execution were falsified....

What truths are hiding in Marquess House? And how was Perdita’s grandmother connected to it all?

©2019 Alexandra Walsh (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Catherine Howard Conspiracy

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t finish it.

The concept of the story was good however at times I felt the portrayal of the historical figures were over stretched in terms of their characters. Henry the Eighth for example this story is a hypothesis taken to the limit which spoilt it for me some time subtle suggestions make a deeper impression of what may have happened. It does make you think. But I soon grew tired of the extremes. The narrator was first class so much so I will definitely look out for her in the future. Would I recommend? If you know your Tudor history you may find this very irritating indeed. And I have to admit this was me and I didn’t finish the book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book got me walking again.....

I couldn’t wait to get up and out for my morning walk while listening to this story. An extra hour each morning in the early morning sun, birdsong and a riveting story. I’ve loved every minute of it. Plausible enough to be believable, that’s the art of a storyteller and I’ve been itching to get back to it every opportunity I’ve had. Using the Audible option meant I could still do other things while listening, so I’ve been sewing, walking, working, researching - all while listening to The Catherine Howard Conspiracy.
I can’t wait to start the second book in the trilogy. It’s a clever concept, with enough belief written in the pages to keep me hooked. Pure Historians might get sniffy about the concepts, but I don’t see why. I loved Enid Blyton as a kid, and never once was I told that there were no such thing as Fairies at the bottom of the garden. I was allowed to set my imagination fee, and that’s exactly what this book has allowed me to do too. I’ve really, really enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Purely creative

I loved this book, I too love history and like to think what if...

This has inspired me thank you.

Taking sure an established story as Queen consort Kathryn Howard and making her more 3D and in-depth. A teenage girls hopes and desires, whatever the generation, and following those into womanhood in an age where being an independent, clever or ambitious woman wasn’t or hasn’t been shown to be a good thing. History keeps throwing up contradictions and we should never stop being open to things could have been different than what we have been led to believe. When history is written by the victor, there is only one side of the story, and I always want more.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Addicted

I'm so in awe of this novel, the story is so clever and the ideas a twists are amazing. I cannot wait for book 2 to arrive. I will read this over and over, I think I have a new favourite author in Alexandra Walsh and look forward to many years of reading and audio from her.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't get enough of Emma Gregory

I really enjoyed this. Two mysteries, separated by 500yrs. Intriguing twists and theories. Kept me interested throughout. Now moving onto the second of the trilogy.