Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Briar Book of the Dead

  • By: A.G. Slatter
  • Narrated by: Jess Nesling
  • Length: 12 hrs and 5 mins
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Briar Book of the Dead cover art

The Briar Book of the Dead

By: A.G. Slatter
Narrated by: Jess Nesling
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Path of Thorns cover art
All the Murmuring Bones cover art
Vigil cover art
The Way of All Flesh cover art
The House of Lost Wives cover art
Of Sorrow and Such cover art
The Ward Witch cover art
The Librarian of Crooked Lane cover art
Wakenhyrst cover art
Dark and Stormy Knights cover art
Poor Things cover art
Neil Gaiman's How the Marquis Got His Coat Back cover art
The Nothing Girl cover art
The Hiding Place cover art
Beware the Past cover art

Summary

Set in the same universe as the acclaimed All the Murmuring Bones and The Path of Thorns (one of Oprah Daily's Top 25 Fantasy Novels of 2022), this beautifully told Gothic fairy tale of ghosts, witches, deadly secrets and past sins, will be perfect for fans of Hannah Whitten and Ava Reid.

Ellie Briar is the first non-witch to be born into her family for generations. The Briar family of witches run the town of Silverton, caring for its inhabitants with their skills and magic. In the usual scheme of things, they would be burnt for their sorcery, but the church has given them dispensation in return for their protection of the borders of the Darklands, where the much-feared Leech Lords hold sway.

Ellie is being trained as a steward, administering for the town, and warding off the insistent interest of the church. When her grandmother dies suddenly, Ellie's cousin Audra rises to the position of Briar Witch, propelling Ellie into her new role. As she navigates fresh challenges, an unexpected new ability to see and speak to the dead leads her to uncover sinister family secrets, stories of burnings, lost grimoires and evil spells. Reeling from one revelation to the next, she seeks answers from the long dead and is forced to decide who to trust, as a devastating plot threatens to destroy everything the Briar witches have sacrificed so much to build.

Told in the award-winning author's trademark gorgeous, addictive prose, this is an intricately woven tale of a family of witches struggling against the bonds of past sins and persecution.

©2023 A.G. Slatter (P)2023 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Briar Book of the Dead

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another perfect spooky witchy mystery

AG Slatter has just perfected gothic fantasy and I hope she NEVER stops writing I cannot fault this story and it’s a perfect addition to the Sourdough universe

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another triumph

Although it didn’t engage me as much as the two other books I still thoroughly enjoyed this fantasy fest! Narrator was excellent and the twists and tales kept the pace and entertainment to the end.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t stop listening!

I absolutely loved this book! To be honest, I love every book AG Slatter writes! This story is amazing, quirky and dark at times, with brilliant characters and an amazing plot. I also really enjoyed the narrator’a performance. Pure delight!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!