Listen free for 30 days

The Bone Sparrow

A Refugee Novel
Narrated by: Gareth Locke
Length: 4 hrs and 27 mins
Categories: Young Adults, Ages 13 & Up
4 out of 5 stars (32 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction prize 2016.

Perfect for fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.

This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope and the power of a story to speak for anyone who's ever struggled to find a safe home.

Born in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he's at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie.

Carrying a notebook that she's unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck - both talismans of her family's past and the mother she's lost - Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence. As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie's family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.

©2016 Zana Fraillon (P)2016 Orion Children's Group

Critic reviews

"...a special book." (Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed Once series)
What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

a refugee story of fantasy and truth

Based on real refugee camp accounts in Australia. The story carries the tale of dreamlike hope and survival despite the inhuman treatment of some of the most traumatised and vulnerable people in the current crisis.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • s
  • 10-06-17

You must listen to this story.

Thought provoking. Deals with the very relevant issue of refugees. There but for the grace of God go I. It shows how we can learn so much from children, their love and acceptance breaks down barriers.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant

moving beautiful and important story. fantastic narration. it really makes you think. highly recommended.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A great eye opener

I did a mix of reading and listening to this story, with a fair chunk of time wrestling with my social conscious. Whilst terrible injustices, it is a balance between those persecuted and those just seeking economic advancements. I do hope this book turns a light on the fair treatment of all, with a change to swift and supportive decision making. Would love to know what happens next.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 24-05-18

Amazing story and narration

The story is captivating and the narration really captures the mood and feel. As I was listening I also was following the story in my book, and noticed some words were either left out or added, therefore only four stars.