Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

C.L. Taylor's The Accident is as tightly woven and sharply winding as all her previous works. As each mystery is solved, another rises to take its place, until at last we learn the answer to the one question that has been burning from the very beginning.

Fast paced and suspenseful, The Accident is perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, Gone Girl, and Sophie Hannah.

A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep....

Sue Jackson has the perfect family, but when her teenage daughter, Charlotte, deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

Retracing her daughter's steps, she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte's diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte's private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter, and she's forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.

Sue will do anything to protect her daughter. But what if she is the reason that Charlotte is in danger?

©2015 C.L. Taylor (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"An enjoyable rollercoaster of a suspense novel with multiple twists." ( Daily Mail)
"This dark and creepy book is a must read." ( The Sun)
"A thrilling crime debut" ( Woman Magazine)
"An ominous atmosphere, a tense tale of past and present colliding, and a narrator whom no-one believes: this book is a delight." (Alex Marwood)
"Utterly compelling. I could not put this gripping, heart-stopping page-turner down" (Rowan Coleman)
"Twisty, dark and utterly compelling" (Lucy Diamond)
"I was gripped from start to finish. Everyone should read this book!" (Lucy Robinson)
"This fast, twisty psychological thriller has suspense on every page!" (Paula Daly)
"Gripping and terrifying" (Julie Cohen)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    121
  • 3 Stars
    55
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    167
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    105
  • 4 Stars
    91
  • 3 Stars
    63
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    13
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MR
  • 03-05-15

tense!!!

loved it, some moments were really frightening, am going read more of her books. great story, great narrator, scary and exciting.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twists and turns to the very end

This is the first book I have listened to by C.L.Taylor and I will be going back for more. Very good story line, with twists and turns right to the very end. Very well narrated, with just the right amount of different accents and voices.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

"Keeping this secret is killing me!"

Any additional comments?

'Keeping this secret is killing me!' - so 15 year-old Charlotte wrote in her diary before she walked in front of a bus, an entry her desperate mother Sue found in the hidden diary whilst Charlotte lies in hospital in a coma. 'The Accident' is in the genre of Gone-Girl-fast-paced psychological thrillers which keep you listening. The trick with these stories is to keep you listening so that you gloss over the ridiculous implausibilities as you hurtle along the Big Dipper of a plot. 'The Accident' succeeds, even if the final scene in hospital is absurd and Sue's past relationship with dream-lover James who turns into your worst nightmare is incredible. But don't stop to think - just go with the twists and turns, the lies and counter-lies, the convolutions of Sue's detective work, the revealed secrets and hidden terrors - and enjoy the tension along the way. Jenny Funnell's narration helps to keep the listener grounded - she gets right inside Sue which increases our sympathy for her and our belief in her. The book has been criticised for the writer's careless writing skills including over-long ill-punctuated sentences and some readers have understandably lost patience with it for this reason. Listening to a professional narration is clearly better than reading!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Norris
  • Pevesy, East Sussex United Kingdom
  • 07-06-15

Annoying

The main character of this book is so annoying. If I knew someone like her I'd want to kill her as well lol.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn't switch this off

Very clever and engaging. Listened to it all in one day. Quite a tense thriller

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thrilling to the very end!

Fantastic listen, edge of the seat stuff. C.L Taylor’s best work to date. Highly recommend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Bloody great pauses and terrible grammar

The grammar in this book is terrible and could do with a better edit.

The narrator added really long unnecessary pauses in the story too. I listen to Audible in 1.25x speed so these must be awful! They’re in ridiculous places in the sentence too.

Story was meh and predictable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Realistic

Quite unsettling as it was like two of my past relationships rolled into one.
Very well written, powerful and uncomfortable in parts but that was so insightful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Janet
  • LIVERPOOL, United Kingdom
  • 16-05-16

Amazing

Gripped from start to finish, fast paced thriller! Excellent narration, just bought the next of C L Taylor's books, can't wait to get listening!! One of the best audiobooks I have ever listened to! X

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good all-rounder

Well written and interesting. The plot and s quite predicable but no less enjoyable. Very good narration. I didn't feel bored at any point and always wanted to know more. Highly recommended.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Terry
  • 11-05-16

The yawn yawn accident

Very average , boring storyline . Don't bother downloading . I wish I could think of something nice about the book