Listen free for 30 days

Sworn to Raise

Courtlight, Book 1
Narrated by: Ashley Arnold
Series: Courtlight, Book 1
Length: 7 hrs and 18 mins
Categories: Young Adults, Ages 11-13
4.5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the empire. But beneath her empire's seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder - intensified by the five-year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companions Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she'd never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn to Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.

©2013 Terah Edun (P)2014 Terah Edun

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Light Reading

It took me sometime to get used to the narrator, who gave the girls rather silly voices and emphasised inappropriate words (IMO). The plot was a bit drawn out by misunderstandings. Also, there were only a few even mildly likeable characters, except the heroin who was a bit too nice.

On the other hand, I did enjoy it!