Listen free for 30 days

Summer on a Sunny Island

Narrated by: Lesley Harcourt
Length: 10 hrs and 34 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The number one best seller is back with an uplifting, happy audiobook that will raise your spirits and warm your heart! 

This summer, sparks are flying on the island of Malta....

When Rosa Hammond splits up from her partner, Marcus, her mum, Dora, suggests a summer in Malta. Not one to sit back and watch her daughter be unhappy, Dora introduces Rosa to Zach in the hope that romance will bloom under the summer sun. But Rosa’s determined not to be swayed by a handsome man - she’s in Malta to work, after all.

Zach, meanwhile, is a magnet for trouble and is dealing with a fair few problems of his own. Neither Rosa or Zach are ready for love - but does fate have other ideas? And after a summer in paradise, will Rosa ever want to leave?

Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Trisha Ashley and Carole Matthews.

©2020 Sue Moorcroft (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"I love all of Sue Moorcroft’s books!." (Katie Fforde)

What listeners say about Summer on a Sunny Island

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sue Moorcroft never disappoints!

Loved the book! Loved all the characters. I think the narrator was excellent with the different voices. The descriptions of the places they visited in Malta made me want to go back again after 30yrs! I found myself going onto Google Maps and visiting the places Sue talked about. Highly recommended 5☆

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Adored Every Minute

it's a long time since I devoured a book in one sitting, but this book had me from the start. The narrator had a great voice which wasn't overbearing.
The story had all kinds of characters in it and Malta sounds amazing.
Another winning book by Sue Moorcroft.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderfully story - really felt like I was there.

I loved this audiobook. the author is great at writing characters that you feel are real people and aren't 2- dimensional. I really felt like I was on Malta with them.

The story was well read by the narrator and they were great with different voices for the different characters. I could always recognise which character was talking.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

After reading several good reviews, I bought this book for my mum, who enjoys a light and easy read. However, she's been quite unenthralled by this story. She started the book several times but couldn't get the gist of the story. She also found the narrator read the book too quickly. Overall, disappointing and will be returned, unfinished.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Travel Books and Movies
  • Travel Books and Movies
  • 18-07-20

Fine for light and easy, but somewhat lacking

Summer on a Sunny Island is one of those books I would call light and easy--it’s ideal for a vacation read when you just want to escape. For those books, my enjoyment is usually based on the characters, the plot, and the location.

The characters are the strongpoint here--Rosa, a young British woman is at a bit of a crossroads in her life (she just broke up with her boyfriend and isn’t quite sure she wants to stay in her teaching job), so she heads to Malta to help her mother, Dory, with her cooking career. There she meets the good-looking single Zach (of course), a young British man also at a bit of a crossroads. Both Rosa and Zach are written well for a beach read--they’re realistic and you care about them. And I enjoy the supporting characters--especially Rosa’s Mom, Dory--they provide just enough relief from the main characters and are all relevant to the story.

The plot is fairly standard--boy and girl meet, problems get in the way, boy and girl solve problems. I did think the problems got a little over-the-top in this one (not so much what happened, but that they just kept piling on), but it wasn’t too cumbersome.

And, of course, Malta is an ideal location for this--it’s a sunny island with a very interesting history and a unique combination of cultures. This is probably where I struggled the most with the book, though--I wish there had been more about Malta! There are a few descriptions and a few location “name drops,” but there is just so much history there and so many beautiful sights, I wish the book had offered more of an insight into this especially unique island. (I do realize I might be a little demanding in that area.)

Summer on a Sunny Island is just fine if you’re looking for a light and easy read to take with you on vacation (I listened to it as an audiobook while on a road trip--it’s great for that, too). If you’re really looking for something on Malta, though, we’ll find you something that offers a little more.