Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Secrets are hidden around every corner....

Summer, 1979. Twenty-six-year-old Esme Munroe has finally left the Scottish Highlands for the excitement of London. Working at a prestigious art gallery in Mayfair, she meets gorgeous, worldly Suki, who takes her to the most exclusive bars and clubs in the city. 

But it’s easy to get lost in London’s glamour and chaos, especially when a long-hidden secret looms - will Esme discover it and who she can really trust before it’s too late? 

Don’t miss this stunning novel, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and The Crown.

©2019 Susannah Constantine (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Thoughtful and dark." (The Times Magazine)

 "Captivating." (Woman & Home)

"This summery tale gives a glimpse into the secret lives of the upper classes and is complete with vivid characters." (Woman

What listeners say about Summer in Mayfair

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect escapism

I was initially unsure whether or not to purchase this book as I had not listened to or read the first book ‘After The Snow’ however after listing to ‘Summer In Mayfair’ I personally believe that it can be classed as a standalone book as although the main protagonist mentions her family and other people who are characters from the original book everything is well set out and explained so the listener can put the picture together and her adventure is a new one with many new characters and situations to navigate through the story. A stunning book perfect for readers who like a bit of historical fiction or just those who want to meander back to the late 70s and experience the sights and sounds of London at that time. Summer In Mayfair perfectly describes many London locations that I am very familiar with such as Camden and Camden market in its heyday and also refers to the music of the time very accurately. This book is the perfect escapism for these very strange times we find ourselves living in at present. Well worth a credit or paid for purchase.