Listen free for 30 days

Stolen Things

A Novel
Narrated by: Xe Sands
Length: 10 hrs and 38 mins
5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

When a 911 dispatcher picks up an emergency call to hear her daughter on the line, her worst nightmare becomes reality.

Laurie Ahmadi has worked as a 911 police dispatcher in her quiet Northern California town for nearly two decades. She considers the department her family; her husband, Omid, is its first Arab American chief, and their teenage daughter, Jojo, has grown up with the force. So when Laurie catches a 911 call and, to her horror, it’s Jojo, the whole department springs into action.

Jojo, drugged, disoriented, and in pain, doesn’t remember how she ended up at the home of Kevin Leeds, a pro football player famous for his on-the-field activism and his work with the CapB - “Citizens Against Police Brutality” - movement. She doesn’t know what happened to Kevin’s friend and trainer, whose beaten corpse is also discovered in the house. And she has no idea where her best friend Harper, who was with her earlier in the evening, could be.

But when Jojo begins to dive into Harper’s social media to look for clues to her whereabouts, Jojo uncovers a shocking secret that turns everything she knew about Harper - and the police department - on its head. With everything they thought they could rely on in question, Laurie and Jojo begin to realize that they can't trust anyone to find Harper except themselves...and time is running out.

©2019 R. H. Herron (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

“Herron treats us to a thriller that slowly peels back the layers of dirty secrets kept by all the people involved...an intense read. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter or Lisa Scottoline.” (Library Journal)

“Herron, a former emergency dispatcher, offers a twisty revenge tale buoyed by successful red herrings, relatable characters, and headline-grabbing themes.” (Booklist)

"Herron writes this story as only a seasoned 911 dispatcher can - gripping us with a cry for help that hits home and steering us, come what may, to the breathless finish. Stolen Things is an urgent, timely tale that transports readers into the minds on both ends of that worst-nightmare call: A daughter desperate for help, and a mother who will have to pass the ultimate test to give it." (Jessica Strawser, author of Not That I Could Tell)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Every Parents Nightmare!

Laurie Ahmadi lives with her husband Omid and her 16 year old daughter Jojo (Joanne)

She is a 911 dispatcher and has been for nearly 20 years, she loves her job and the people in her department, and thinks of them as her family.
The rest of the department feel the same way toward her, and have watched her daughter grow up, and think of Jojo as one of their own, Jojo knows them all and loves visiting the station to see everyone.

Laurie's husband Omir is the Chief, and is the first Arab American to rise to that position, and Laurie is very, very proud of his achievements.

Whilst at work one day Laurie and her work colleague play their usual game of 'who can answer first', Laurie wins and answers the call, it turns out to be one of the worst days of her life!

"911 how can i direct your call"
"Mama"
"Jojo?"
“Mama? Help me.”

Jojo wakes up in pain, she doesn't know where she is, or how she got there, she is really scared, and where the hell is her best friend Harper?

Kevin is a Pro football player, but why is Jojo in his house, and why is there a beaten bloody corpse in his bathroom?

With things not seeing quite right Jojo and Laurie become detectives and start diving into the clues left behind to try and find out where Harper is, does someone have her? Is she ok?

When Laurie and Jojo stumble across something that should have never been found, they start to think that they don't know anyone at all.

This one will definitely keep you on the edge of your seat, it literally dives straight in to the action, and doesn't let up for a minute.



**Trigger warnings for Rape/Suicide/Child Abuse**

🎧🎧

Narrated by XE Sands, and oh my, I have found myself a new #VoiceCrush

Her voice was absolutely amazing for this story, her male voices were perfect, and I had no problems differentiating between each character, I am currently stalking her other releases, and will be filling up my Wish List on Audible

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant novel

Great suspense is created right from the beginning. The complicated relationship between teenagers and their parents, between the police and the public, including racial attitudes, is exposed brilliantly through the female characters. The realistic and credible reflections reveal their uncertainty and doubts to speak up to the broken atmosphere in the police department, together with
desperate attempts to take action in highly dangerous situations.
A thrilling novel, really worth listen, and the narration by Xe Sands is excellent and emotional.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa
  • Lisa
  • 28-08-19

Fast-paced, non-stop action, full of suspense

I love this book. I could barely tear myself away. Every time I thought I knew what was going to happen, the story took an unexpected turn. The characters were very likeable, and the emotions were intense. Also a fun (and slightly scary) look into the world of first responders.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracey Devlyn
  • Tracey Devlyn
  • 06-12-19

A great story of triumph

R.H. Herron has made her mark in this genre. Loved the mother-daughter mystery-solving team, twisty turns, flawed characters, depths of a mother’s love. Highly recommended!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for callie
  • callie
  • 02-10-19

OMG

This book will grab you from the first sentence
The narrator Xe Sands is amazing and brings this book to life
And also is my favorite narrator on Audible
Do not miss this one !!!!!’

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jazzy Jazzbo
  • Jazzy Jazzbo
  • 01-10-19

Wowwwww

This book is amazing!! It kept me riveted from beginning to end!! RH Herron is a word master and Xe Sands is one of the best narrators I've ever listened to!! This book was better than all those NYT best selling thrillers of the past few years combined!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for G'amazing
  • G'amazing
  • 25-09-19

Mixed bag

The narrator was excellent. The storyline was a real page turner ...or chapter burner, since this is an audiobook; although a bit convoluted in the end. I disliked that the girls had to be so young, although I understand it was necessary for the storyline. Their actions did not suit 16 year old girls, as their actions seemed to be well thought out; usually. And also it seemed odd that the police woman turned dispatcher, would have sought help for her violent anger issues; and she would not have committed the aggressive acts that she ended up doing. Overall, an entertaining listen; although I struggled with various characters’ actions. But it is fiction, so doesn’t have to be realistic. So 4 stars for being a good mystery with terrific narration.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brandee
  • Brandee
  • 08-09-19

Wow! I LOVE it!

I love the fierce mama-bear in this book. She had multiple layers. The narrator is magnificent!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Leah
  • Leah
  • 04-09-19

Worth a credit

This was a really good book.
It was the author’s first book (I think?? ..she wrote it under a pseudonym). It was fast paced and unpredictable. She was once a 911 dispatcher herself, which helped give perspective into a world most of us don’t get to experience.
I’ll be watching for other books written by her.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for E. Haig-Widner
  • E. Haig-Widner
  • 03-09-19

Gripping and intense

I’m still reeling from finishing this story. Characters I thought I wouldn’t like feel like family now and I don’t know what to do now that the tale is told. R. H. Herron has given us a nuanced modern parable, a gripping thriller, a call to action, and several heartbreaking love stories all wrapped in a tale of human imperfection. I loved every minute of it, I am better for having read it.

A note on the performance: I listen to 60+ hours of Audible books a month and this is one of the finest performances I have found. The reader gave subtle shades to the characters, sometimes a simple as a spec of vocal fry, or the rounding of an R to help the listener stay present with who is speaking or thinking. She struck the perfect note of exhaustion triggered by an overwhelming situation. Thank you for this gift.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patricia J. Crusch
  • Patricia J. Crusch
  • 19-11-19

Yikes.

I enjoy mysteries and suspense, but this seemed too repetitive and far-fetched, I also don’t want to listen to teenage sex scenes and horrific threats about raping women. This was written poorly and could even be considered cheesy. I’m sure the author tried, but that was rough from start to finish. I listened through thinking it would get better...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wilnette
  • Wilnette
  • 25-09-19

Unbelievable at times.

Story Line was so unbelievable. I could not believe that we readers were expected to believe that the mother would run around all over the city trying to find the kidnappers of someone else's daughter while leaving her daughter at risk as a target for these same bad guys. The story had very few sympathetic characters; just JoJO and Kevin. I could not illicit one ounce of sympathy for the mother or the father of JoJo or Harper. I could hardly get thought the book. I only bought it because of the narrator, XE Sands, and she did an ok job with some poor writing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful