Listen free for 30 days

Stolen Lives

Underhill Chronicles, Book 1
Narrated by: Angelo Di Loreto
Length: 12 hrs and 39 mins
3.9 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Trapped in another world. All stats against them. It’s fight or die.

When Caleb reported for his normal shift, he never expected to go from the front seat of his ambulance to a bloody battlefield in a medieval Fey Realm. Kidnapped and beaten unconscious, he wakes up with a concussion and a fresh tattoo. While this might not be totally unusual for him, having the tattoo project the image of his stats and equipment like an old school tabletop RPG kind of is.

He finds himself thrown into a cell with three strangers who’ve also been abducted. Even worse, they’re all from different time periods, and due to the disjointed flow of time between the real world and this realm, hardly able to understand each other. They’ll have to learn to work together.

Months of training will lead to a yearly battle they were kidnapped to fight in. It’s law.But Caleb has other plans. Outnumbered and under-armed, but lured in by freedom, he can either stay and fight in the games, or try to lead the escape to the only gate back to their world. Either way, it’s live or die.

Don’t miss this epic new LitRPG/GameLit Saga, perfect for fans of Spartacus, Eric Ugland, and Aleron Kong.

©2020 Aethon Books (P)2020 Podium Audio

What listeners say about Stolen Lives

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Phillip
  • Phillip
  • 17-09-20

First-Rate, First-Responder LitRPG

I received a free copy of this audiobook. I enjoyed this LitRPG book. The main character, Caleb, is a first responder/paramedic. He is pulled into another world to be a slave, forced to train and fight in an arena. He and his friends attempt to escape from this evil realm. His experience is invaluable in forging friendships and keeping his friends alive. It's obvious the author has medical experience. The descriptions of combat and injuries are detailed but not overly detailed so as to bog down the book. This adds to the realism of the book. Whereas many books, video games, RPG's, and movies have main characters survive terrible injuries with mere handwaving and little if any treatment, the injuries matter in this book, as they would in real life, and necessarily affect the story. That is what makes this book different from other LitRPG's and is why you should read it - it really feels like this is closer to what could happen if you found yourself sucked into a fantasy realm. The narrator did a great job.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marlon
  • Marlon
  • 29-09-20

A good start

I enjoyed this book, but it had some serious and noticeable issues. take the last part of the book, why not jump into the portal rather than away from it tell me that. The spell was ready so jump in and you are fine. The wolf didn't have to die. The other issue is the village why abandon those people, more hands make light work is a saying for a reason. The more fighters the easier they can win. I also don't get why the MC refused to kill the guy in the initial battle then getting stabbed and having to end up killing the guy still. He just wasted the limited healing and weakened the part. The other issue is the woman who jumped into the cart car with them, but wasn't a part of the team. The minute she refuses to help why not kill her because it ended up that she tortured one their own people because of it. I know I pointed out some issues but I liked it so let's see what happens next. It better gets better or it's the axe.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mario
  • Mario
  • 20-09-20

I could not stay awake/interested

As the headline states, I had bouts of nodding off and multiple rewinds to try and restart my attention. After 9 + hrs of listening to the book I gave up. There's multiple series I'm following no need to torture myself. Especially with the wonderful return policy at audible. Lots of positive reviews so I am wondering if I am the odd review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lonnie-The GreatNorthernTroll-Moore
  • Lonnie-The GreatNorthernTroll-Moore
  • 24-10-20

Wow, Caleb never imagined this day...

Wow, Caleb our main protagonist is kidnapped and dragged to Underhill where he finds himself hurt, trapped and enslaved in an old-school like D&D game... where the only sure thing, is death! It's a fight or "perma-die" situation, and the action is turned all the way up to 11, complete with brain matter spewing out the back of an unfortunate head or two!!! Caleb, has just one thing on his mind: to change the odds, and turn the tables on the Fae and escape! Something he can't do without the help of his pack mates! And, yes! I loved it! I guess I saw to many Samurai movies in my formative years! LOL The narrator Angelo De Loreto did his job admirably, and I was so wrapped up in the story I lost track of him as "the narrator". Ya gotta be doing real good to accomplish that! 😆 If I had any complaint, it would be about the abrupt ending (Not that it wasn't good, mind you)... I guess I'm just the type of reader that perfers the book to close with more of a denouement!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 21-10-20

highest quality litrpg

extremely well written, natural flow and brilliantly narated. will be looking forward to the next chapters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeff
  • Jeff
  • 16-10-20

Very enjoyable

I loved a lot of the ideas in this book. I hope if hope we get more background into the fantasy world, especially the combat games, in the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John Stringham
  • John Stringham
  • 08-10-20

Very Excellent

I really enjoyed this story, and can't wait for more in the series. This is a portal fantasy with gamelit aspects. Strong characters and plot. OK narration

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Justin
  • Justin
  • 21-09-20

long ending

Good over all. kinda drags on at the end. Narration was done well. one two.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacob P
  • Jacob P
  • 19-09-20

Captivating Kickoff for Man vs Fae with GameLit

Mr. Ahrens spins a masterful and captivating first entry to his Underhill Chronicles with Stolen Lives. A lot of fantasy books, including GameLit/LitRPG series, explore the Human Realm vs. Fae Realm idea, but few do so as seamlessly as the Underhill Chronicles. The GameLit elements are explained as a part of the magic the Fae use to track and control human slaves that they abduct to serve as pawns in their internal conflicts, and are kept light enough not to interrupt the flow of the story but detailed enough to be useful in explaining growth in abilities in short time periods or unusual circumstances. The characters are all well developed and understandable given their backgrounds, including the fact that they come from abductions across a span of decades. The use of the differing flow of time in the Fae realms is used to good effect in that regard, to provide a reasonable way for the diverse backgrounds to be sensibly available and for there not to be an outcry in the "normal" world at many people going missing simultaneously. The combat scenes and injuries are described in a level of detail that really brings them to life without being gratuitously gorey. Instead, they add to the depth of the story by showing how injuries impact the flow of battle for the individual and for those fighting in the same battle, whether friend or foe. The ability of magic to fix the wounds reduces the long-term impact of those serious injuries which do not result in death, but the limits to how much magic can be used in a given timeframe mean that wounds may still have mid-to-long term consequences. Stolen Lives deals with the newest arrival as an abducted slave combatant, Caleb, in the hold of one particular Elf lording and the events that follow. Caleb's background as a New York City EMT provides a great reason for his being somewhat combat-capable, but not a true warrior, and his medical training and inclinations are so different from the typical background of those the Fae abduct as to make his personality and skills a disruptive event. The fallout of Caleb's skills and actions combined with other plots and problems already in existence in the land makes for a fun story and end with resolving one small challenge for the survivors, but leave many questions and problems still to be overcome in the rest of the series. Highly Recommended! I am looking quite forward to more in this series. Disclaimer: I was given this a free review copy audiobook and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Byron
  • Byron
  • 19-09-20

the book I've been wanting to see

the artwork gives a good glimpse to the dark war story that is being told. and the narrator has a great grim and gritty voice. the story is what I've been wanting to see in a gamelit book. I mean, I don't even have words to express how much I liked it. I'll not spoil anything but this had the feeling of watching spartacus being taught how to fight and then making escape plans and executing plans but with gamelit in the mix. this is also more old school D&D elements as compared to some books with different gaming mechanics. it's not all action but building of camaraderie between slaves of war. the gritty elements of this book really have you rooting for these guys. I feel like I could say a lot more about what I like about this book but I may spoil it. looking forward to the next one!