Listen free for 30 days

Star Daughter

Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 13 hrs and 6 mins
3.7 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

“Shveta Thakrar's prose is as beautiful as starlight.” (New York Times best-selling author Holly Black)

This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy.

The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be “normal.” But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star’s help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago.

Sheetal’s quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family’s champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens — and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all. Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor. 

©2020 Shveta Thakrar (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What listeners say about Star Daughter

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mat
  • mat
  • 14-08-20

Everything that makes YA awful and so much more.

Whiney over dramatic main character who throws random tantrums...check. Ridiculous over the top flowery language that only serves to leave you more confused to what is going on..check. Adults who have unrealistic expectations of "normalcy" that they force on the "misunderstood" child...check. Gag inducing unrealistic love interests...check The main character believing that everyone else's needs, wants or desire's are so petty compared to their own and everyone is out to get her, but she doesn't REALLY care because they just don't understand.....check check CHECK. I didn't finish this book, didn't even make it to the 3rd chapter before i started skipping to see if this book ever improves. it doesn't. i will be getting my credit back as soon as i can. This book is worse than trash it is an utter insult to real teen girls everywhere.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kreads1
  • Kreads1
  • 04-09-20

Brilliant magical coming of age book!

Sheetal is nearing her 17th birthday, this half-star, half-human, is trying to find her place among her peers. The story that unfolds is one of magic, music, and love. Thakrar weaves a beautiful storyline that reads like poetry throughout this lovely coming of age book. Sheetal’s destiny is unique and mesmerizing. Nankani’s narration flows so well with the writing that the story and characters really come to life. I highly recommend this book and recording. There isn’t a thing I feel needs criticism. I am hoping the story of the Star Duaghter May continue.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julia Rios
  • Julia Rios
  • 03-09-20

Wondrous and uplifting

I was looking forward to this book for ages because I loved the concept of a girl who was a star, but the reality was even better than I had imagined. I loved Sheetal’s journey, her agency, her community, and the way that this story focused on empathy and hope. The starry court was so cool, too! If you want a book that leaves you feeling good, this is a great choice!