Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £25.69

Buy Now for £25.69

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Sometimes, just one person can pull a whole family apart. And sometimes, it just takes one person to pull it back together.

For fans of Bridgerton, New York Times best-selling Regency-romance author Mary Balogh shows how love truly conquers all in this new Westcott family novel.

As a young man, Justin Wiley was banished by his father for mysterious reasons, but now his father is dead, and Justin has been Earl of Brandon for six years. A dark, dour man, he nonetheless takes it as his responsibility to care for his half-sister, Maria, when her mother dies. He travels to her home to fetch her back to the family seat at Everleigh Park.

Although she adored him once, Maria now loathes Justin, and her friend, Lady Estelle Lamarr, can see immediately how his very name upsets her. When Justin arrives and invites Estelle and her brother to accompany Maria to Everleigh Park to help with her distress, she begrudgingly agrees for Maria's sake.

As family secrets unravel in Maria's homecoming, Justin, too, uncovers his desire for a countess. And, while he may believe he's found an obvious candidate in the beautiful 25-year-old Lady Estelle, she is most certain that they could never make a match....

©2021 Mary Balogh (P)2021 Recorded Books, Inc.

What listeners say about Someone Perfect

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another wonderful story!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book- again the author brought in an intriguing plot which kept you enticed right to the end …

Most enjoyable to have found this series !

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

hmmm.

While I really liked the characters of Estelle and
Justin, and their journey to find love, the five million relatives (slight exaggeration) and all their names and titles became so damn tedious that I began to lose interest in the main story. And the constant repetition of all.those names and their relationship to each other ...yawn. I know how hard it is to keep everyone in the loop having written a series myself but this was beyond irritating. Not sure I'll read any more Westcott despite being a huge Mary Ballogh fan. might just re listen to Slightly Dangerous- now that's a series end worth reading over and over....

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The last of the Westcotts

Delightful story read perfectly by Rosalyn Landor. She manages to get all the accents of each member of the cast perfectly as always. Not to be missed!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maria Footman
  • Maria Footman
  • 18-12-21

Oh, That Mary Balogh…

I very, very rarely write reviews, but after this fantastic book felt I had to let you know about this writer. Yes her books are well written, yes there’s always mild drama, yes it will be a romance that is lovely without being vulgar in all its physical aspects.

But that Mary Balogh! She’s amazing. I listen as I do chores and errands. Yesterday I picked up my daughter from work with tears flowing and a throat too clogged with love for the characters to even tell my daughter hello. When she got into the car and looked at my face laughed and asked “Mary Balogh.”

Nuff said.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-02-22

A paean to love and family

Balogh continues her expansion of people worthy of love to include members of the working class and does it skillfully enough that it seems plausible. I predict she will tackle same-sex love next.

The growth of her characters, while unrealistically fast, is nevertheless believable; and she has a good understanding of the damage of early loss. Angry, pouting,scornful Mariah is a good secondary character.

But the star of the book is Rosalyn Landon with her, seemingly, infinite variety of voices and accents, her command of emotion and shades of meaning. Though in this book she did recycle some voices from previous books it did not distract from her overall masterful performance.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rlane
  • Rlane
  • 03-01-22

So lovely!

Lady Estelle Lemarr is content with being single. No one has come along to tempt her, and she’s determined not to settle for someone less that her idea of perfect. I could understand her feelings. Why settle when you’re fine with things as they are? However, that’s usually when you find love as is the case here with Estelle. The Earl of Brandon, Justin Wiley, with his broody looks and attitude immediately sets her back up and Estelle’s not inclined to like him as he hasn’t bothered to visit his younger sister, Maria, for years when she clearly needed him. But first impressions can be very wrong.

Justin had inherited the title of Earl of Brandon with the passing of his father six years earlier, but hasn’t been around his younger half sister since she was eight. With the passing of his stepmother Justin is now Maria’s guardian. He intends to live up to his duties and take Maria back to the family home of Everleigh. Maria isn’t happy with her brother at all. Seeing that Lady Estelle and her brother Bertrand are friends with Maria, he invites them to stay to make the changes for Maria easier. He tells himself that he’s only inviting them for Maria, but his first accidental meeting with Estelle has stuck in his head and he can’t help but be drawn to her.

It took a while for me to get into the story and I didn’t even really feel any romance between Estelle and Justin until the 30% mark, but there was some time that had to be spent setting up the story. There were a lot of characters involved and it took some doing getting them straight in my head. Honestly, I just gave up after a while and concentrated more on Estelle and Justin, but by the end I think I had the different families and relations mostly sorted.

As the story goes on Estelle begins to realize her first impressions of Justin were not fair, and he began to gain her respect and admiration in the way he dealt with Maria and the many family members. Estelle had strong feelings about Justin, even at their first meeting, that she comes to realize as stirrings of attraction. Much more powerful that she wanted to admit to, and she finds herself reluctantly drawn to him at every turn.

My heart broke for Justin and all he went through because of a spiteful, selfish woman. His interactions with Estelle were muddled, but endearing. I loved the inescapable quality to their romance and the unexpected heat!

This is book nine of the series, but it’s not necessary to read the previous books. There are mentions of the previous couples and there’s a lot of extended family named, but honestly you don’t need to keep it all straight to enjoy it.

Someone Perfect took a little while to get into but ended up being so lovely! Justin and Estelle’s story filled my heart with joy!

I've listened to Rosalyn Landor before and I do enjoy her performance. Her female voices are wonderful, but the male voices sometimes come off sounding really elderly. Overall, the audio was great!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ginger
  • Ginger
  • 01-01-22

Unbelievably boring!

I cannot really believe this is Mary Balogh! A million plus unnecessary words! It just doesn't compare to anything Balogh wrote previously. Even Rosalyn Landor couldn't wake this one up. Not worth the attempt to like it just because I have loved Mary Balogh's books - every one of them - until now.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 30-12-21

Someone Perfect

I enjoyed this book so much. I have to admit that I have become addicted to audiobooks. This was a straight listen. When I do choose a book, the Narrator is important too. Ms Landor is my FIRST choice. She brings each project to life. The Storyline was very arresting. THANK YOU Ms Balogh and Ms Landor.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dale
  • Dale
  • 12-12-21

Don’t waste your credit or your time.

Very disappointed in this book and to say it’s a Westcott novel is stretching it. This was so boring that Roselyn Landor couldn’t make it bearable. Story is about Viola Westcott’s husband’s daughter. The husband doesn’t come off smelling like a rose either. I have loved almost everything Mary Balogh has written and hope she starts a new series and stops expanding on one’s we all loved as a hook.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KDS/BJD
  • KDS/BJD
  • 01-07-22

Another Great Balogh Story

While my plot summary would just be duplicative, I strongly recommend this and all other Balogh books. Hey Audible...Author has many not available as audiobooks. PLEASE get those works into audiobook form.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-06-22

True to the series

This book was true to the series. I enjoyed every minute of it. And as always, Rosalyn Landor was exceptional.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rene
  • Rene
  • 18-03-22

wonderful books

I have not found a book yet that I have not totally loved by this woman. I love every book that she has written started reading them before my eyesight started to fail audio books are wonderful the complaint whatsoever others and some aren't available.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dana M Richart
  • Dana M Richart
  • 29-01-22

first time listening

The narrator was female and I struggled with the male characters, even though she changed tones and accents.