Listen free for 30 days

Some Days Are Dark

Narrated by: Barbara Barnes
Length: 12 hrs and 41 mins
2 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A completely gripping suspense thriller with a breathtaking twist

I was happy my husband died, but I couldn’t admit it, otherwise people might think I killed him. 

Before 

Olivia knows she is lucky. She has a loving husband, Frank, an adorable son, Jake, and a beautiful new home. It couldn’t be more different from her childhood on the outskirts of Whitaker, dirt poor and dreaming of getting out. But at the end of long days with no one to talk to, always feeling like she’s not quite good enough, she starts to wonder if there’s a better life waiting....

After 

Everyone in Whitaker knows who Olivia is. She’s the woman who left her family for no-good Dane Miller - and the one who most likely shot him. Now, there’s gossip about her everywhere she goes, she’s too scared to leave the house most days, and she barely gets to see her beloved son. 

How can a perfect life fall apart so quickly? And, when you have nothing to lose, how far will you go to save yourself? 

An absolutely gripping, heart-pounding suspense novel about bad choices and second chances. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Karin Slaughter, and Lisa Gray.

©2020 Miranda Smith (P)2020 Bookouture

More from the same

What listeners say about Some Days Are Dark

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kristen Chappell
  • Kristen Chappell
  • 31-03-20

Must read!

This was by far my favorite book. I related to Olivia as a mother. I felt her pain. I hung on every word. I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for donnacdavis
  • donnacdavis
  • 27-04-20

Who is this narrator?

I just couldn’t make myself to this whinny sloppy sounding narrator and returned the book.

I don’t know if I would have enjoyed the story with a different narrator or not.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anne Compton
  • Anne Compton
  • 14-04-20

Narration is so distracting.

I was switching back and forth from reading this book on my Kindle at home and then listening to it on Audlible in the car. Reading the book was enjoyable....listening to it on Audlible was not. I felt like it was being narrated by the voices of Peggy and Bobby from the cartoon King of the Hill. I gave up trying to listen to it on Audible after three attempts.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stacey_C
  • Stacey_C
  • 15-04-20

wow!

thought for awhile u was listening to excerpts from my own life.... minus the murder....but plenty of other drama to make up for it!!! loved it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joyce Lareau
  • Joyce Lareau
  • 15-04-20

Where was the psychological thriller part?

If this was supposed to be a gripping psychological thriller it Never made it there. A very long story with a pretty good ending.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marty
  • Marty
  • 02-08-20

Very disappointing read

I was bored out of my mind . I finally skipped a dozen chapters to discover the details I was interested in.