Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A missing baby. A mother’s nightmare.         

When Izzy Grant’s newborn daughter, Alys, disappears, her world shatters around her. Despite an extensive search the police find no trace of the missing girl, but Izzy refuses to give up hope that her daughter will be found.

Then a note is pushed through her letterbox, warning her off.

For Izzy it’s a ray of hope, another lead for the police to follow. For DC Gaby Darin it’s another piece of the puzzle that just won’t fit. But as a long-lost friend returns to Izzy’s life with a shocking secret, Gaby realises the truth of who took Izzy’s daughter from her might lie in the past - and far closer to home than anyone could have imagined....

Gripping and unstoppable, this emotional thriller will have you racing through until the very last minute. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, LJ Ross and Erin Kinsley. 

Previously published as Missing in Wales. This edition contains significant editorial revisions.

©2020 Jenny O'Brien (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about Silent Cry

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • J
  • 07-10-21

Over sold

Didn’t quite live up to its billing. Supposed to be about a female detective but she only really had a bit part until late in the story. Also, small point to the editors Eurostar doesn’t stop at Calais; you have to get the Le Shuttle for that.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant!

I really thought I had this whole thing figured out quite early in the book but I was totally wrong. An excellent read with an ending I didn't see coming.
I'm jumping straight in to the next book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maria Elisa Nalegach
  • Maria Elisa Nalegach
  • 28-10-20

Nightmare

Evidently, the loss of your partner and newborn child is a nightmare, but nothing compared to the writing and the narrator.
The characters are flat, lacking depth and annoying. The story takes forever to unfold and lacks credibility. Alas, not for me.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cynthia
  • Cynthia
  • 02-07-20

The story might have been good but...

The voice of the 20 something main character was voiced by an older person and it just didn’t work. It was hard to get past. Also most characters sounded the same.