Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

They don't know what I did. And I intend to keep it that way.

How far would you go to win? Hyper-competitive people, mind games and a dangerous natural environment combine to make the must-listen thriller of the year. Fans of Lucy Foley and Lisa Jewell will be gripped by spectacular debut novel Shiver.

When Milla is invited to a reunion in the French Alps resort that saw the peak of her snowboarding career, she drops everything to go. While she would rather forget the events of that winter, the invitation comes from Curtis, the one person she can't seem to let go.

The five friends haven't seen each other for 10 years, since the disappearance of the beautiful and enigmatic Saskia. But when an icebreaker game turns menacing, they realise they don't know who has really gathered them there and how far they will go to find the truth. 

In a deserted lodge high up a mountain, the secrets of the past are about to come to light.

©2021 Allie Reynolds (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"A truly gripping chiller of a thriller. Sensational." (Peter James) 

"A white-knuckle-ride through a dangerous world full of deadly ambition." (Erin Kelly) 

"A knife-sharp locked room mystery." (Harriet Tyce) 

"An exciting, twisty page-turner that will keep you guessing all the way to the end." (C.L. Taylor)

More from the same

What listeners say about Shiver

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Narration

The narrator really adds all the value to this book. She has a spooky low voice (sometimes a bit too quiet) but it creates the right atmosphere. The storyline is not bad and it does keep you hooked...but its not written well. And its all about snowboarding so either its a topic you interested in - or its not. In summary, the main character meets her 'friends' in a ski resort, works her way around sleeping with all of them, while trying to figure out who killed 1 of the group 10 yrs previously (this is presented at the start).

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

So enjoyed this gripping insightful real sense of place and character and the end does not disappoint

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

refused to sleep bc of this book!

This book really had.me on edge and the ending was not what I expected. Excellent reading. Joy to listen. Very clean and refreshing plotline.I felt as if I was in this mystery in every chapter. i loved it!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wow

I love this book! couldn't put it down. The suspense was a perfect balance. left me wanting more

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

Really enjoyed this book, great setting, story and narration. Lots of snowboarding terminology which I don't know anything about, however it adds to the story rather than detracts. I definitely recommend this book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Boring and difficult to get to end

Started well, but way too far many references to snowboarding which just become boring. Also there are parts of the book that are completely unnecessary where they are spending the night together and the references to "his body next to mine, his hard packed muscles" etc etc etc were just ludicrous and added nothing to the story. There was also too times that everyone was blaming themselves for the situation they were in. Almost gave up but managed to finish as was on a long walk one day and I forced myself to get to the end.

Overall could have been a good story but remove the hundreds of snowboarding jumps and the unnecessary sexual references, was a long 10 hours,

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Snowboarding bore with bad accents to boot.

Gave up on this which is something I rarely do. if you don’t like snowboarding don’t bother, there’s way too much focus on it and not enough on the fact that they’re stuck in an isolated cabin in the snow. Sadly the narrator is terrible in this, I’ve listened to her previously and really like the books she’s read but the accents in this are so off-putting, I just can’t. The character who’s supposed to be from Newcastle flits between sounding Scottish and sounding Indian. I might’ve been able to continue for longer without the accents but probably not, the story was far too boring for the thriller it promised to be unfortunately :(

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Icy spine chiller

Great to be so fully immersed in an unfamiliar environment. Loved all the twists and turns. A very enjoyable read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping read

Couldn't put this book down, so many twists and turns. A really gripping story, definitely didn't predict the ending. Did not disappoint.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

Loved this. Gripping to the end and the narration made the characters come to life. Highly recommended!