Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

They don't know what I did. And I intend to keep it that way.

How far would you go to win? Hyper-competitive people, mind games and a dangerous natural environment combine to make the must-listen thriller of the year. Fans of Lucy Foley and Lisa Jewell will be gripped by spectacular debut novel Shiver.

When Milla is invited to a reunion in the French Alps resort that saw the peak of her snowboarding career, she drops everything to go. While she would rather forget the events of that winter, the invitation comes from Curtis, the one person she can't seem to let go.

The five friends haven't seen each other for 10 years, since the disappearance of the beautiful and enigmatic Saskia. But when an icebreaker game turns menacing, they realise they don't know who has really gathered them there and how far they will go to find the truth. 

In a deserted lodge high up a mountain, the secrets of the past are about to come to light.

©2021 Allie Reynolds (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"A truly gripping chiller of a thriller. Sensational." (Peter James) 

"A white-knuckle-ride through a dangerous world full of deadly ambition." (Erin Kelly) 

"A knife-sharp locked room mystery." (Harriet Tyce) 

What listeners say about Shiver

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Icy spine chiller

Great to be so fully immersed in an unfamiliar environment. Loved all the twists and turns. A very enjoyable read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wow

I love this book! couldn't put it down. The suspense was a perfect balance. left me wanting more

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

Really enjoyed this book, great setting, story and narration. Lots of snowboarding terminology which I don't know anything about, however it adds to the story rather than detracts. I definitely recommend this book.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very poor hard to hear when travelling

Narrator was poor very low voice amost whispering inaudible in the car so gave up on it

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Narration

The narrator really adds all the value to this book. She has a spooky low voice (sometimes a bit too quiet) but it creates the right atmosphere. The storyline is not bad and it does keep you hooked...but its not written well. And its all about snowboarding so either its a topic you interested in - or its not. In summary, the main character meets her 'friends' in a ski resort, works her way around sleeping with all of them, while trying to figure out who killed 1 of the group 10 yrs previously (this is presented at the start).

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Chilling, but not sure about main character.

Not sure about this one. Would someone really go that far to win? Made me question what anyone would do just for a sport. There was a lot of snowboarding terminology which confused me at points, not understanding the sport. I had to Google things to find out the answers. Saskia was an absolutely horrible person, but Miller did things I didn't agree with either.