Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £27.69

Buy Now for £27.69

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

"Heath steals your heart, then takes you on a journey that will leave you torn between tears and joy".
—Christina Dodd

New York Times bestselling author Lorraine Heath writes sweet temptations—richly, deliciously passionate, high concept historical romance in the vein of Lisa Kleypas and Liz Carlyle. With She Tempts the Duke, Heath kicks off another enthralling series, this time following the fortunes of the Lost Lords of Pembrook—three dark and dangerous noble brothers imprisoned and robbed of their inheritance, but free now and determined to reclaim their birthright. Set in England during Victoria's reign, She Tempts the Duke is the enthrallingly romantic story of Sebastian, who fled to battle, and his return to London, a hardened soldier, drawn to the beautiful, brave lady who helped him and his brothers escape their captivity.

©2012 Jan Nowasky (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about She Tempts the Duke

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Pretty boring

This book was quite boring and not very engaging, I sort of forgot the names of the characters the moment the book ended. The narration was ok, the authors command of writing ok, there was just not much to engage the listener.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Edwina "I Love books"
  • Edwina "I Love books"
  • 23-02-16

BEAUTIFUL LOVE STORY!!

Where does She Tempts the Duke rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

at the top

What was one of the most memorable moments of She Tempts the Duke?

The beginning when the brothers return at the Ball 12yrs later after there escape!! The shock on there uncles face and the shock of the Ton

Which character – as performed by Faye Adele – was your favorite?

Mary Wynne- Jones

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Three Brothers in the Tower

Any additional comments?


I loved She Tempts the Duke!! I could not put it down and only stop reading for a few hours to close my eyes. This is a true Historical Romance between childhood friends and unconditional friendship.

The story starts in 1844 with there young boys sons of the Duke of Keswick are lead to the tower at there ancestral home Pembrook on orders of there uncle David Easton. Sebastian is the older of the 14 year old twins Tristan is the second twin and Rafe was the third and youngest brother at 10 years. There father is dead and now Sebastian is the new Duke of Keswick and his uncle wants them dead. Mary Wynne-Jones the 10 yrs old daughter of the Earl of Winslow, has found out they are being held in the tower and she know why. Mary helps the boys escape and is told by Sebastian who she loves and is his Best Mate that they will return in 10 years, but 12 years past and Mary was sent off to be raised by Nuns in a Covent. She thinks the boys must be dead or at least one of them would have contacted her over so many years. Rumors are rampant in the Ton as to what happen to the boys. There evil uncle has taken guardianship over all there holding and now he is proceeding to partition the court of Chancery to granted the title of Duke.

The three brothers return and introduce themselves at a Ball with over 300 people in attendance and Mary is there with her Fiancée Viscount Fitzwilliam. The brothers make a grand entrance and expose there uncle David as the villain he is. However it is hard for the boys to re enter society. As they have had to live hard and rough lives to survive. Sebastian has been horribly scared and lost his eye fighting in the war. Mary of course does all she can to help her friends, but some of the Ton doesn't believe there story about there uncles evil dealings and intent concerning them. Once David is displaced and they have insured he lives in poverty. They start to rebuild there lives but there uncle won't give up on becoming a powerful Duke so easily.

Mary and Sebastian rekindle there friendship and time and time again she comes to his an his brothers aid. I loved that the story centers mostly around Sebastian and Mary and the Soul Mate bond they shared since there early childhood. They are both loveable well written and well developed characters. There are lively characters through out the story and the tone of the book is true to the era it is set in. The story moves fast and I couldn't stop reading. The back story is detailed just enough. The romance and love between the two main characters Sebastian and Mary was just awesome. I can't wait to read Tristan and Rafe's stories. If I can one complaint it would be the uncle David's end came to quick and easy!! I Highly Recommend "She Tempts the Duke"




4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deborah
  • Deborah
  • 12-04-16

Another Twist on Wicked Nobleman

What made the experience of listening to She Tempts the Duke the most enjoyable?

I found this book to have a different twist to most books of this type and by Heath. The listen was exciting and suspenseful.

What other book might you compare She Tempts the Duke to and why?

I would compare this book to Heath's In Bed with the Devil but only loosely.

What about Faye Adele’s performance did you like?

Adele does a good job narrating this book. Her voice was full of emotion and inflection.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

The book does purge the emotions, so if you are a crier keep the tissues close.

Any additional comments?

The series is worth the investment as the purchaser will want to listen to them over and over.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for L. Brown-Jackson
  • L. Brown-Jackson
  • 19-09-16

Love the return!

The lost Lords are some formable men! I truly loved the scene where they let the ton know that they have returned to claim what was stolen from them. Their devious uncle has taken over their estate, and has plans to be named the rightful Duke of Keswick, thus taking over all his nephew's birthrights. He and his twin, plus their younger brother, return on the night their uncle is holding a ball letting everyone know he is the new Duke. Needless to say, thing didn't work out so well for the uncle. Just picturing how the three brothers looked standing at the top of the ballroom stairs is enough to make you want to continue reading this book.

There is also a wonderful love story set as the backdrop for this book. Mary, our heroine is the perfect match for our hero. She stands between them and certain death, and helps them escape from the tower, after their uncle has locked them up in preparation to kill them. She stays loyal to the brothers for over ten years, and turns out to be their greatest supporter when they return.

Ms. Adele does a decent job, and this is a good start for the series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MVA
  • MVA
  • 14-02-17

Better than I expected!!

Lets just say this was a nice surprise. I wasn't expecting this book to be this good. It was very well written. Well worth the credit.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BABS ROLFE
  • BABS ROLFE
  • 10-03-16

VT. FAN

I love Lorraine Heath and this is the first of a great trilogy with action ,romance and suspense.. Faye Adele is fabulous as the narrator of all 3 audio books..She is terrific with both male and female voices as well as children's voices.. Unlike some of the narrators chosen for Ms. Heath's audio books where the 19 or 20 year old female lead sounds like 40, and the 20 early 30 male leads sounds 80 you will not be disappointed with Faye Adele narration. It is perfect..

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MaBiche
  • MaBiche
  • 08-09-21

Angsty

Angsty as per usual with Lorraine Heath’s books. Loved that Mary is strong-willed and saved Sebastian’s life a couple of times. I liked the dynamics among the brothers.

The narrator is okay. Her male voice is a bit weak though. I probably would have enjoyed this better had I read it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for palvmba
  • palvmba
  • 12-06-21

A favorite book in a 3 book series

I highly recommend this 3 book series. I've read it many times and enjoy the sequals.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AmazonianCat
  • AmazonianCat
  • 08-03-19

Good story TERRIBLE narrator

Didn't do Lorraine Heath justice. Poor narrator but I liked the story so stuck with it. Could have been great with Rosalyn Landor, Kate Reading or even Mary Jane Wells. Too bad.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dunia
  • Dunia
  • 22-02-19

romance very dull

narrator was horrible, very robotic voice, story drawn on and on could not bare listing to it.. I felt there was too much talking no feelings..must being the narrator I could not stand it

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Zzrole
  • Zzrole
  • 20-10-18

Narrator or story. Not sure which ruined it

This wasn’t the best I’ve listened to by Ms Heath. The narration was tepid and the dialogue uninspiring. Oh well...