Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The first book in the brand-new series from New York Times best-selling author Julie Kagawa. 

Enter a beautiful and perilous land of shape-shifters and samurai, kami and legends, humans and demons...a world in which Japanese mythology and imagination blend together.

When destiny calls, legends rise. 

Every millennium the missing pieces of the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers are hunted, for they hold the power to call the great Kami Dragon from the sea and ask for any one wish. 

As a temple burns to the ground, Yumeko escapes with its greatest treasure - the first piece of the scroll. And when fate thrusts her into the path of a mysterious samurai, she knows he seeks what she has. Kage is under order to kill those who stand in his way, but will he be able to complete his mission? Will this be the dawn that sees the dragon wake?

Fans of Sarah J. Maas, Marie Lu and Cassandra Clare will be captivated by this enchanting new series.

©2018 Julie Kagawa (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"Shadow of the Fox has just become one of my all time favorite fantasy novels! I'm in love with this book, its characters, its worldbuilding! Oni, giant centipedes, flesh eating ghosts, and terrifying half women/half spider things that will give me nightmares for weeks to come, this book is filled with terrifying Asian mythological creatures that make Medusa look like a mean grandma with a bad wig. Not to mention a lovable kitsune, a sexy demonslayer, and quite a few side characters that are larger than life and have completely wormed their way into my heart. I'm so invested in their lives and their quest and I cannot wait for the next installment of my new favorite series. In the meantime, I plan to re-read Shadow of the Fox again and again until I can be reunited with Yumeko and Tatsumi soon. So dear Julie, please write faster!" (Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy and Spirit Hunters series)

"Julie Kagawa is one killer storyteller." (MTV)

"Kagawa knows just how to end a first volume for maximum cliff-hanger drama." (Booklist)

What listeners say about Shadow of the Fox

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE JULIE KAGAWA’S BOOKS (Roblox references)

This was amazing and now when I play adopt me I will look at the legendary kitsune pet in a new light.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible story

Demons, ghosts, magic swords, fox-women and witches make an unforgettable tale that will stay with me for a long time. Though there are hints of romance, it is not at all heavy handed. Great action sequences. Will def buy the second.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great performance, a bit too simple story.

I truly enjoyed the performance, great job. Slightly disappointed with the plot, to obvious solutions to problems, characters clever or naive when convenient without much of consistency. Still, there is potential for further improvement. I hope that in the following book(s) I could learn the reason why certain scrolls weren't destroyed if so dangerous. I'll listen to the next book hoping to find sensible answer to this question.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply stunning story.

I can't wait for the rest of the next story of the Fox. fantastic to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Wow! This was amazing, I couldn’t stop listening. And that ending... I need the second book now! Would recommend to fans of YA and stories set in Japan :)

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great easy listening

Enjoyable first book. I struggled with the performances.......the story kept my interest, but sadly I found the performances abrasive.

I will definitely give the next book in the series a go. It has been perfect to listen to when wanting to chill with an audio book that isn't demanding whilst being interesting enough (characters, plot etc) to maintain my willingness to 'ignore' the performances.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

Loved it-loved-it-loved it, can hardly wait for the next book! Enchanting story & cast of characters. Brilliantly told story of a quest in feudal Japan, good over evil, magic & demons, it has everything!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gvido
  • Gvido
  • 06-11-18

Full of yokai and entertaining

Cool novel, full of yokai and suspense. A fantasy Pseudo-Japanese setting, that is by no means boring.