Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

When a shadow wizard with a dark past uncovers a supernatural conspiracy, he'll stop at nothing to get revenge on the Fae who enslaved him! 

I go by Crowley, no last name. The Fae took that from me when they tore me from my crib and turned me into a creature of blood and shadow. 

My kidnappers raised me, taught me magic, and made me their Hound. For years I served them, venturing out from Underhill to do their bidding, stealing magical artifacts, hunting down their enemies, and spying on humankind.

But a cur can only be brought to heel for so long. I've broken my chains by betraying my adoptive mother, the powerful sorceress Fuamnach. Since then, her assassins have been hunting me, and if I'm captured I'll be taken back to Underhill to face a crueler fate than death.

So, I spend my days in my tower, conducting magical experiments to help me control the dark entity that Fuamnach grafted onto my soul. As for my nights, they’re spent capturing the deadliest of supernatural creatures. I must have ingredients for my research, after all.

Now, one of those creatures claims he witnessed my abduction. Yet, the supernatural races are a treacherous lot, and there’s little to convince me he’s telling the truth.

But if there’s even a remote chance that my family is alive and well....

I’ll cut a swathe of destruction through an army of Fae, if it means gaining back a piece of the humanity they stole from me.

My name is Crowley, and if I can’t have my life back, then vengeance will have to do.

Shade Cursed is the first entry in The Shadow Changeling Series, a Colin McCool Junkyard Druid spin-off series set in M.D. Massey's Druidverse urban fantasy setting.

If you enjoy dark urban fantasy books featuring haunted antiheroes in the tradition of Snape, Walker Boh, and Constantine, you'll love this story about a human changeling prince fighting to overcome the tragedy of his tortured past.

Listen to the first title in this urban fantasy trilogy today!

©2021 M.D. Massey (P)2021 M.D. Massey

What listeners say about Shade Cursed: A Druidverse Urban Fantasy Novel

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NoOneSpecial
  • NoOneSpecial
  • 20-11-21

Finally a new UF antihero to love

I like the writing style with fast moving plot twist and well placed humor aside the darkness. I am going to revisit the primary series as this is a spin-off. For some reason I don’t recall particularly liking junkyard Druid. I didn’t write any notes so I’m not sure what I disliked. I am however certain I’m staying with this spin-off. Loved it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BookLover
  • BookLover
  • 02-11-21

Fantastic story and narrator

I usually read MD Massey's books but grabbed the audio version of this one. This book is as wonderful as his others. Crowley is the perfect Redeemed villian and the narrator did. GREAT job. I want to listen to all of his books.