Try an audiobook on us

Scrublands

Narrated by: Rupert Degas
Length: 13 hrs and 16 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (108 ratings)
Regular price: £24.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A powerful, compelling, vividly written Australian crime novel perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper. 

A dead river. A dying town. A killer's secrets.... 

In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself. 

A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events. 

Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend, and Martin is the one in the spotlight.  

Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried. 

©2018 Chris Hammer (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best in ages.

The best audiobook I have listened to in ages. Wonderfully performed and a wonderful story weaving in and out but masterfully written and eminently followable.
Really good to hear a book that isn’t at any point unnecessarily verbose. No sense of pages been filled and word counts been achieved by spurious flimflam. The text cuts like a knife, concise, clear and always to the point. Stimulating to the mind and the heart.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gripping

This is an excellent story, twisting and turning. Like Jane Harper’s The Lost Man, you feel like you are in the Outback. Central character is flawed but realistically so.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Superb

After just finishing the last of the C J Sansom 'Shardlake' series I was stuck for a new title. Took a gamble on this one. Not my usual kind of story and had never heard of this author.

What can I say? The story was magnificent and the narration was quite possibly the best I have come across.

Cannot recommend this enough!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting

A cracking yarn. Excellent performance accentuating the author’s descriptive powers. Kept guessing right to the end.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant brilliant BRILLIANT!!!!

One of if not best audio book of the many I’ve ever read. Thank you and write and read more!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

great story, fabulous narration. keeps you guessing and I couldn't figure it out until it was revealed. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must read

You will not be able to put this book down. The narration is without doubt the best I have listened to. Just try it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb

Started listening to this book on one of my sleepless nights hoping boredom would help me drop off, no such luck, every minute was superbly exciting and the readers voice was perfect

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good read

Chris Hammer employs his journalistic skills to good effect. He creates a great feeling of the drought stricken outback. The story is hackneyed but enjoyable. Well worth a listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

Great narration, well-written story, lots of twists and turns, great character portraits. The Australian outback has never been so enthralling.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful