Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

When Citaria falls under the shadow of a demonic incursion, only a legendary hero can stop them. 

For Karian Vanador, though, being resurrected comes with a price. Not only is she in a different time and place, but the world has changed in her absence, and she must face the dark demons of her past once again. 

Partnered with allies who would've been her enemies in her past life, she must adapt to this new world and lead these young heroes to fulfill their potential - to stop a civil war being stoked by demonic influences. If they fail, Citaria may fall to a war that dwarfs the Apocalypse. 

What lies beneath the demons' sudden interest in Citaria? And how is one woman supposed to counteract it? The gods sent their best, but can she become the hero of today as well? 

Experience the start of an epic fantasy saga for the ages. It’s perfect for fans of Raymond E. Feist, R. A. Salvatore, and Bryce O’Connor. 

©2018 Aethon Books (P)2020 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Salvation's Dawn: An Epic Fantasy Saga

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great story

A really enjoyable story and seems to be just scratching the surface of a much larger world. I can't wait to listen to the next book.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

just sex sex sex

I was about halfway through and all it seemed to happen was sex sex sex. that's it. or perving by men. not only was that boring nothing else happened. it's like the writer was just trying to fill out words like an essay for uni. utter crap

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A very good pleasant surprise

Enjoyed every last minute very good fantasy writing and story gripping from start to finish

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyable

a very enjoyable listen makes a pleasant change to have a female lead character i am looking forward to the next book in the series

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for tb3
  • tb3
  • 02-08-20

It's Epic, and a Good Try - But....

I've decided to return this one after about three to four hours of listening and getting a feel for the author's style. I had trouble connecting to the protagonist, and as I reflect I think it's just the way that this book is written. The words used are simple, descriptions minimal, and while there are emotions and depth attempted, we are told about these characters far more than we are shown them. And that's not a style that I like. Here's an example of what's written versus (roughly) what I want from authors. Take this emotional situation, excerpted from Chapter 8: What's Written: When Kari stepped out, she found Ellegos (sp?) pacing back and forth while Aric (sp?) tried to calm him down. Aric's efforts were for naught, as Ellegos seemed to just get more and more upset, and soon the rest of the group joined them in the common room. My Non-Professional Rewrite: Kari was startled as she entered the room. Ellegos was pacing back and forth, fuming, nearly screaming 'how could she?', and then 'what did I do?'. Aric was walking next to him, attempting to put an arm around Ellegos's shoulder, though about all he could seem muster himself to say was 'it'll be okay'. For a moment she stood still in confused concern and worry, before entering the room and moving to stand along the wall. She didn't know what to say, and wanted to stay out of it. The remainder of the group entered quickly on her heels, drawn by the commotion. See? There's taste involved. There's definitely an epic setting here. There's a character who means well, who has questions about herself and who even while a veteran warrior has questions about who she is, why she was returned to life, and who holds doubts -- these are decent ideas, ideas that could create a rich character arc of the sort that I like. But I just can't get past the way that this book is written. There's so much telling me about this character, instead of showing me this character. Which frustrates. This probably isn't the author for me. Chelsea Stephens made a good effort in narration.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Willis Burns
  • Willis Burns
  • 13-05-20

SO GOOD!

This book was freaking fantastic fantasy. I am in love with the story and Chelsea Stephen’s voice fits Kari so well. I preordered book 2 immediately.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gordon
  • Gordon
  • 13-07-20

Fantastic start!!!

The author builds a fascinating world filled with a number of non-human races (although humans exist here as well). In this first installment, Mr. Jackson lightly touches on a few cultural differences and uses them to drive the story forward. I especially liked that the main protagonist wasn't your stereotypical farm kid or offspring of anyone famous. She was a legendary warrior in her own right and unwillingly resurrected. The story has quite a bit more romance than I typically enjoy, but it's not at all gratuitous and is important to the overall arc. The narrator does a great job with the various characters and I'm happy to see that she voices the next two books. I'm definitely looking forward to Book 2!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lonnie-The GreatNorthernTroll-Moore
  • Lonnie-The GreatNorthernTroll-Moore
  • 21-05-20

Joe Jackson cast CrAZy strong magic!

What kind of spell work does Joe Jackson cast over his readers? Whatever he uses, it's got to be some CrAZy strong magic, as I found myself immediately entranced with Kari's story! I'm not necessarily a huge fan of quest novels, and I usually find myself easily distracted from, and bored with, a long journey/quest (why, do you think that I've never read the Hobbit? Lol), but that's not the case with this book! I loved Karian Vanador, a veteran demon hunter as she took on this new mission. I found myself needing to learn more about her, her world, her quest, her need to find her own answers. And every page seemed to only peek my curiosity and desire to find out more! Joe Jackson totally ensorcled me with this plot driven storyline, and then... Chelsea Stephens just Freakin' nailed it with her finely nuanced performance. She had me eating right out of her hand!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gil T
  • Gil T
  • 28-06-20

Good story that leaves you wanting more

Karian Vanador has been resurrected. She didn’t want to be and is not truly grateful to be. She is the only one known to ever have been resurrected. Most don’t believe it is actually her but someone trying to steal her glory. The world is at war with demons trying to find a gateway into the world. You are only giving snippets of her past life. At the beginning of the story a war has just ended and the remaining and fleeing demons will be finished off. Kari is summoned and asked to work with a group, the Silver Blades on her next mission. They had a reputation during the war, but she is surprised to find out they are half demon. Half demons are despised by all races. She is also asked to evaluate one of the siblings in the Silver Blades on his leadership abilities. The story goes on from there but I don’t want to spoil anything. It is definitely worth checking out and I will continue to read the series myself. This was my first time listening to Chelsea Stephens. I think she did a good job with the different characters, storytelling and the emotions from the characters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for rpreffer
  • rpreffer
  • 14-06-20

Very Detailed and Intriguing

Joe Jackson plunges his readers into the action with this tale. The detail he includes makes you feel like you are present in the story. I really enjoyed the characters and the intermingling of species in this tale. Although the story is not groundbreaking, there are several moral lessons which I think elevate it beyond most. Fans of the movie Avatar should enjoy this one. I listened to this on Audible and found the narration very good. The pace was great and the narrator did a good job voicing the different characters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Charles Gibbs
  • Charles Gibbs
  • 11-06-20

A Solid Fantasy

First, to get it out of the way, I was given this book at my request in exchange for a honest review. That being said, Salvation's Dawn is a story I immensely enjoyed on my commute to work. The story flows well with no noticeable rough spots. It is not a fast paced tale but one that does not falter in its goal. The character development is superb and none of the main cast of characters feel like forced cardboard cutouts. While the conclusion will not leave you feeling breathless, you will can enjoy this well crafted tale and not feel like your time has been wasted. Chelsea Stephens was an excellent choice for narrator. I look forward to more from this author and narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul Vasquez
  • Paul Vasquez
  • 22-05-20

Main Character has wings and a tail!

This was a great story but the Main character has wings and a tail. It was a little difficult to picture in my mind what the main character looks like but no matter what they look like, they do kick Butt! Several good fight scenes and a plot that makes for an interesting story. The middle chapters are a little slow but overall a very good Audio book. The Narrator does a great job! Without doubt worth a credit!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amanda
  • Amanda
  • 04-06-20

Fair read

I give this a 3/5. Plot and characters are done well, narration is good. It has magic but a little lacking.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LRS
  • LRS
  • 19-05-20

A little slow

This book was a little confusing at the beginning. I felt like there should have been a better explanation of what Karian is and the other characters as well. These aren't typical fantasy book creatures so it was hard make a picture of them in my mind. Overall, it was a good story. I will continue to read the series.