Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

In Rumour Has It by best-selling author Jill Mansell, Tilly's not looking for love, but love certainly has its eye on her! Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Lucy Diamond.

When newly single Tilly Cole impulsively quits her London job for a fresh start in the small town of Roxborough, she finds she's arrived in a hotbed of gossip, intrigue and rampant rivalry for the most desirable men. Tilly has no intention of joining in - she's just happy with her new girl Friday job.

Then she meets Jack Lucas. Jack is irresistible...and he's got his eye on Tilly. But there are shocking rumours about his wicked reputation. Tilly doesn't want to be just another notch on anyone's bedpost. But is she being mature and sensible - or is she running away from the love of her life?

©2009 Jill Mansell (P)2016 Headline Digital

What listeners say about Rumour Has It

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Marvellous fun!

Oh Jill Mansell writes such brilliant characters and weaves a magical story. This is read superbly and is one I know I'll want to hear again. There's not enough stories leaving me smiling. This is one,however.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not the Best

Jill Mansell is one of my favourite authors but this story never really got started. The accents by the narrator were really annoying.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Funny, sweet & perfect

narrator was perfect, writing was funny & moving, loved it. Off to find more by this author

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book!

Wonderful captivating story, couldn't stop listening. Thought the narrator did a fantastic job with all the different characters and voices. My favourite Jill Mansell yet!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Good when you're on the road

I got into audio books since it is a 5 hour drive until my home town, I enjoy reading through it but it gives me headaches, so I thought listening to a book seems like a wonderful idea, and it is. The narrator was fine, although it was a little odd to hear her try to imitate man voices. It breaks the immersion for a while, but I got used to it eventually. Also her accents seem a bit off, but overall, I liked her. Now, regarding the novel... Not my favourite from Jill Mansell, but still better than Perfect Timing. The characters were ok, there were several moments that brought a smile on my face, but... Tilly is not a very compelling character, Erin feels like a doormat, Stella was waaaay too much a caricature and don't get me started how Kaye and Parker truly loved each other after 3 freaking days. LOVE! not attraction, not lust, but love, so much so that she gave up her career to be with him, because clearly he was too smart to throw away his life to be with a woman he barely met, but loooved so much... Sorry, that part of the book was too exagerated, even for a rom com like this. I was pleasanly surprised by Max's character, I didn't feel he was stereotypical, although some may comment on his interior design job. So, all in all, a nice read when you're on the go.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable

Great characters and storyline, with excellent narration. Thoroughly enjoyed this audiobook, Jill Mansell at her best!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rumour has it

Loved this book! Listened to it twice now and still would listen again. I couldn't turn it off which ment I was up late and was unsociable my other half told me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rumour has it

Jill Mansell never fails to come up with an original and feel good story.I love the way that the readers make all the characters so different.