Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £0.99

Buy Now for £0.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Editor reviews

Darren Henley, the director of a UK national radio station, loves classical music. He strives to bring this passion to modern audiences through these short, compelling biographies of great composers. Here, he details the life and work of Sergei Rachmoninov, the face of Romanticism in Russian classical music. Marin Alsop's straightforward performance lets the fascinating stories speak for themselves. Her warm voice proves lighthearted but informative. The production benefits from excerpted music and occasional sound effects. Both of Henley's series, Famous Composers and More Famous Composers, ought to appeal to even casual history or music fans.


This is a story from the More Famous Composers collection.

The first volume of Famous Composers, written by Darren Henley and read by Marin Alsop, the American conductor, won a prestigious Audie in the US. Here, Henley and the Naxos AudioBooks team bring the combination of an entertaining but informative "life" and numerous musical selections to a further set of six composers: Handel, Haydn, Mendelssohn, Chopin, Rachmaninov, and contemporary artist Paul Williams.

Also listen to the first book, Famous Composers.
©2007 Naxos AudioBooks (P)2007 Naxos AudioBooks

Critic reviews

"The pleasantly voiced Marin Alsop once again acts as musical tour guide, giving historical context and sharing engaging bits of information... while also calling our attention to interesting, illustrative moments in the music. Though clearly designed for children, this engaging audio experience is educational for a wide audience." ( AudioFile)

What listeners say about Rachmaninov

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.